Them Changes

Them Changes

by Tom Scott


Item is available through our marketplace sellers.


Them Changes

Anyone remember when Pat Sajak had a talk show? Thought not. Well, no matter, because the show was forgettable. What wasn't so easy to dismiss though was the house band, which rocked on admirably even after cancellation by virtue of this wonderfully accessible, upbeat pop effort conceived and produced by the show's musical director and one of jazz's premier saxmen. Purists who've followed Scott over the years may balk at such a commercial collection, but the music is as fun as the guys who are playing it, so who can argue? Scott wrote only two of the nine songs, and interestingly enough, "Desire" and "We Belong Together" are the least exciting tunes, thought they mellow out the pace a bit. Covers of the Average White Band's '74 hit "Pick up the Pieces," Buddy Miles' song as the energetic title cut, Earth, Wind & Fire's brassy "Serpentine Fire," and Coltrane's bluesy "Dahomey Dance" are party tunes all the way, and this band featuring L.A. clubbers Barnaby Finch, Pat Kelley, and Tim Landers help the expressive Scott bring the passionate funk to life. For every tame moment, such as the fairly mundane high school prom-esque reading of Kool and the Gang's "Too Hot," there are jammers like Kelley's blues jam "Chester and Bruce," featuring a wondrously frisky key solo by Finch. The Sajak band never did a group album after this, but each member was a sideman force in contemporary jazz throughout the next decade.

Product Details

Release Date: 04/25/1990
Label: Grp Records
UPC: 0011105961325
catalogNumber: 9613

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Tom Scott   Primary Artist,Alto Saxophone,Tenor Saxophone
Pat Kelley   Guitar
Dave Koz   Alto Saxophone,Soprano Saxophone,Tenor Saxophone
Eric Gale   Rhythm Guitar
Tim Landers   Bass
Jerry Peters   Piano,fender rhodes,Synthesizer Piano
Art Rodriguez   Percussion,Drums
Barnaby Finch   Synthesizer

Technical Credits

Tom Scott   Producer,Contributor,WX7 Wind Controller
Rick Butz   Engineer
Dave Grusin   Producer,Executive Producer
Jeff DeMorris   Engineer
Bruce Littlejohn   Producer
Gary Lubow   Engineer
Gabriel Mossat   Engineer
Larry Rosen   Producer,Executive Producer
Lynne Scott   Cover Design
Mitch Zelezny   Engineer
Andy Baltimore   Director

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews