There Is Always One More Time

There Is Always One More Time

by Johnny Adams


Item is available through our marketplace sellers.


There Is Always One More Time

There Is Always One More Time is a compilation of the recordings Johnny Adams made for Rounder Records in the 1980s and '90s. The compilation was put together by Scott Billington, who produced all of Adams' Rounder albums. In his liner notes, Billington acknowledges that he had never produced an R&B singer before, so it may not be surprising that he was quick to have Adams sing in styles other than R&B. It was precisely this eclecticism that caused fans and reviewers to reserve their judgment on the Rounder recordings, and Billington has carried it over to the compilation. Drawing from all the albums as well as discs by Ruth Brown and Alvin "Red" Tyler on which Adams guested, he emphasizes novelty material. With Brown, Adams is heard joshing his way through Willie Mabon's "I Don't Know"; "A Lot of Living to Do" (aka "A Lot of Livin' to Do"), on which Adams is accompanied by Harry Connick, Jr. at the piano and on which he imitates a horn, is from the Broadway musical Bye Bye Birdie; "But Not for Me," also featuring a horn imitation, is the Gershwin standard; and "Never Alone" is an a cappella gospel tune. Of course, there are some bluesy numbers, such as "One Foot in the Blues," and several R&B songs. There Is Always One More Time is representative of Adams' later work in that it tries to broaden him stylistically. Clearly, he went along gamely with whatever Billington brought him and added his soulful sound to it. But that didn't mean he did his best work.

Product Details

Release Date: 10/31/2000
Label: Rounder / Umgd
UPC: 0011661158122
catalogNumber: 611581

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Johnny Adams   Primary Artist,Vocals
Walter "Wolfman" Washington   Guitar
Harry Connick   Piano
Aaron Neville   Vocals
Duke Robillard   Guitar
Ruth Brown   Vocals
David Torkanowsky   Piano,Keyboards
George Jackson   Conga
Herlin Riley   Drums
Wilbert "Junkyard Dog" Arnold   Drums
Wayne Bennett   Guitar
Jon Cleary   Piano
Charles Elam   Vocals
Herman V. Ernest   Percussion,Drums
Bobby Forrester   Piano
Craig Klein   Trombone
George Porter   Bass
Shannon Powell   Drums
Bill "Foots" Samuel   Alto Saxophone,Baritone Saxophone
James Singleton   Bass
Lonnie Smith   Hammond Organ
Jim Spake   Baritone Saxophone,Tenor Saxophone
Scott Thompson   Trumpet
Michael Toles   Guitar
Terry Tullos   Trumpet
Alvin "Red" Tyler   Tenor Saxophone
Johnny Vidacovich   Drums
Craig Wroten   Synthesizer,Piano,Hammond Organ
Ed Petersen   Tenor Saxophone
Nick Daniels   Vocals
Spencer Donnell   Drums

Technical Credits

George Gershwin   Composer
Scott Billington   Producer,Liner Notes,Art Direction
David Farrell   Engineer
Jay Gallagher   Engineer
Ira Gershwin   Composer
Bill "Foots" Samuel   Arranger
Jim Spake   Horn Arrangements
Scott Thompson   Horn Arrangements
Nancy Given   Art Direction
Christian Clayton   Cover Art

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews