Theresa Andersson [EP]

Theresa Andersson [EP]

by Theresa Andersson


Item is available through our marketplace sellers.


Theresa Andersson [EP]

New Orleans' Basin Street Records, which had its offices flooded in the wake of Hurricane Katrina, returns to action with this five-song EP from Theresa Andersson, who previously released her album Shine on the label. For both the company and the artist, the five-track, 18-minute disc is a way of showing the flag and announcing that they are still in the game. Andersson has played different kinds of music since debuting with the jazz disc Vibes in 1994. Here, she is aiming for a rustic, country-blues sound à la Lucinda Williams, whose "Jackson" is the first track. "Accustomed to the Dark," the only song for which Andersson gets a co-writing credit, and on which she accompanies herself on acoustic guitar, begins with a false start, and studio chatter is heard elsewhere, giving the recording the feel of a loose rehearsal. That feel comes through in the shuffling arrangements, and in Andersson's breathy, weary seeming singing as she covers Reggie Lucas' "Borderline," Gary Hirstius' "Fine Line," and Tim O'Connell's "Singer of Songs." She isn't out to blow anyone away on this little collection, just to let listeners know that she and her associates are still around making music in her adopted hometown.

Product Details

Release Date: 05/30/2006
Label: Basin Street Records
UPC: 0652905100226
catalogNumber: 1002


  1. Jackson
  2. Accustomed to the Dark
  3. Borderline
  4. Fine Line
  5. Singer of Songs

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Theresa Andersson   Primary Artist,Acoustic Guitar,Strings,Violin,Vocals,Shaker,Guitar (Tenor)
Rene Coman   Bass
Keith Ferguson   Electric Guitar,fender rhodes,Guitar (Electric Baritone)
Carlo Nuccio   Drums
John Fohl   Acoustic Guitar,Dobro,Electric Guitar
Matt Martin   Electric Guitar
Andy Wagner   Organ,Acoustic Guitar,Accordion,Electric Guitar
Peter Harris   Bass,Upright Bass
Arthur Mintz   Percussion,Drums,Shaker
Jack Craft   Cello
Peter Harris   Upright Bass
Sam Craft   Violin
Andy Wagner   Organ,Acoustic Guitar,Accordion,Electric Guitar

Technical Credits

Lucinda Williams   Composer
Reggie Lucas   Composer
Don Cook   Composer
Gary Hirstius   Composer
John Barlow Jarvis   Composer
Theresa Andersson   Composer,String Arrangements
Mike Napolitano   Engineer,overdub engineer
Mark Samuels   Executive Producer
Wesley Fontenot   Engineer
Arthur Mintz   Audio Production
Andy Wagner   Audio Production

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews