Things to Come [Telarc]

Things to Come [Telarc]

by Dizzy Gillespie Alumni All-Stars


Item is available through our marketplace sellers.


Things to Come [Telarc]

The Dizzy Gillespie Alumni All-Stars are a "ghost" band of sorts run by trumpeter and Gillespie protégé Jon Faddis. Recorded to celebrate the music and memory of Gillespie, Things to Come is a fiery live recording made in September of 2000 at the Manchester Craftsmen's Guild; all proceeds from the sale of this disc go directly to the Craftsmen's Guild's minority-focused arts and learning center. Featuring various Gillespie band alumni, from saxophonist Jimmy Heath to trombonist Slide Hampton, the album features updated arrangements of Gillespie originals and songs associated with the innovative jazz icon. The supersonic trumpet of Faddis is featured throughout and, as he's been called upon to do many times, he does a terrific job of emulating his idol. While this is a pristine-sounding and flawless recording, the simple fact that these songs, such as "Manteca" and "Stablemates," are such warhorses of the jazz idiom makes the CD seem a tad predictable. Nonetheless, fans of straight-ahead modern jazz and bebop should be very pleased with the results.

Product Details

Release Date: 05/28/2002
Label: Mcg Jazz
UPC: 0612262100925
catalogNumber: 1009

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Dizzy Gillespie Alumni All-Stars   Primary Artist
Jon Faddis   Trumpet,Conductor,Soloist
Slide Hampton   Trombone,Soloist
Antonio Hart   Alto Saxophone,Soloist
Jimmy Heath   Tenor Saxophone,Soloist
Renee Rosnes   Piano,Soloist
Gary Smulyan   Baritone Saxophone
Jay Ashby   Trombone,Soloist
Marty Ashby   Guitar,Soloist
Earl Gardner   Trumpet
Greg Gisbert   Trumpet,Soloist
Dennis Mackrel   Drums,Soloist
Douglas Purviance   Bass Trombone
Claudio Roditi   Trumpet,Soloist
Terell Stafford   Trumpet,Soloist
Frank Wess   Flute,Alto Saxophone,Soloist
John Arthur Lee   Bass

Technical Credits

Jon Faddis   Producer,Musical Director
Gil Fuller   Composer
Dizzy Gillespie   Composer
Chano Pozo   Composer
Jay Ashby   Producer
Marty Ashby   Executive Producer
Ray Brown   Composer
Frank Paparelli   Composer
Phil Schaap   Liner Notes
John Lee   Producer
John Arthur Lee   Producer
Jay Dudt   Engineer
Milton Shaw   Composer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews