This Is Fort Apache

This Is Fort Apache


Item is available through our marketplace sellers.


This Is Fort Apache

This Is Fort Apache was a collection of songs by artists who had released records on the Fort Apache label. It is also a very predictable collection of 1990s alternative rock. Not that the songs are bad by any means, but they certainly don't break any new ground. Juliana Hatfield sounds exactly as one would expect on "Here Comes the Pain," Buffalo Tom sound exactly like Buffalo Tom on "Crutch," and even Cold Water Flat manage to sound like Buffalo Tom on "Magnetic North Pole." Elsewhere, Belly, Dinosaur Jr, the Lemonheads, Throwing Muses, and Sebadoh all run through fairly standard tracks. There are a number of highlights to this set, however. "Sulk" sees Billy Bragg in fine form, Radiohead provide one of the better moments from Pablo Honey in the form of "Anyone Can Play Guitar," and the late Mark Sandman's pre-Morphine group Treat Her Right provide the great, bluesy "I Think She Likes Me." As an example of '90s alternative rock, This Is Fort Apache features many of the heavyweights of the time. It's interesting then that it should be the lesser-known artists who manage to shine through.

Product Details

Release Date: 01/03/1995
Label: Mca
UPC: 0008811117924
catalogNumber: 11179

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Billy Bragg   Track Performer
Buffalo Tom   Track Performer
Dinosaur Jr.   Track Performer
Throwing Muses   Track Performer
Treat Her Right   Track Performer
Sebadoh   Track Performer
Walkabouts   Track Performer
Come   Track Performer
Juliana Hatfield   Track Performer
Belly   Track Performer
Cold Water Flat   Track Performer
Radiohead   Track Performer
Lemonheads   Track Performer

Technical Credits

Buffalo Tom   Producer
Come   Producer
Gary Smith   Producer
Belly   Producer
Lou Giordano   Producer,Engineer
Paul Q. Kolderie   Producer,Engineer
Tim O'Heir   Producer
Carl Plaster   Producer
Sean Slade   Producer,Engineer
Colin Greenwood   Composer
Jonny Greenwood   Composer
Ed O'Brien   Composer
Phil Selway   Composer
Tim Stedman   Art Direction
Paul Janovitz   Composer
Thom Yorke   Composer
Karen Schoemer   Liner Notes
Gary E. Smith   Producer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews