This Is Marcus Canty [EP]

This Is Marcus Canty [EP]

by Marcus Canty


Item is available through our marketplace sellers.


This Is Marcus Canty [EP]

The first season of the U.S. X Factor competition featured a fourth-place finish from this Maryland native, whose first charting single -- "Won't Make a Fool Out of You" -- was part of the Think Like a Man soundtrack. That song isn't on this introductory EP, which is led instead by "In & Out" (featuring Wale), a robust single that fared just a little better by peaking at number 56 on Billboard's R&B/Hip-Hop Songs chart. The EP's other six songs have the kind of glossy synthesizers and hooks intended to point Canty toward Top 40 pop play; when this was released, it was more difficult than ever for new R&B artists to make a mainstream breakthrough without catering to pop. Canty has charm to spare, and nearly every line seems to be delivered with an "I can't believe this is happening" smile, but the majority of the material is not a great match for his ability. Hopefully he'll eventually get to handle some modern stylistic equivalents of the R&B classics ("A Song for You," "I'm Going Down," "Ain't Nobody") he nailed on The X Factor.

Product Details

Release Date: 03/05/2013
Label: Epic
UPC: 0886919575422
catalogNumber: 195754

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Marcus Canty   Primary Artist
Claude Kelly   Background Vocals
Dewain Whitmore   Background Vocals

Technical Credits

O'Kelly Isley   Composer
Ronald Isley   Composer
Rudolph Isley   Composer
Wycliffe "Steely" Johnson   Composer
Pat Thrall   Engineer
Damon Thomas   Composer
Eric Dawkins   Composer
Chris Jackson   Composer,Vocal Producer
Rexton Gordon   Composer
Harvey Mason   Composer
LaShawn Daniels   Composer
Andrew Hey   Engineer
Michael Daley   Composer
Courtney Harrell   Composer
Claude Kelly   Composer,Producer,Vocal Arrangements,Vocal Producer
Chuck Harmony   Producer,Instrumentation
Andrew Wuepper   Engineer
Kevin "Trackz" Coby   Engineer
Fuko Chubachi   Art Direction
Olubowale Akintimehin   Composer
Charles Harmon   Composer
Jordan Suecof   Composer
JP Robinson   Art Direction
Jessyca Wilson   Composer
Chris "Tek" O'Ryan   Engineer
Miguel Jiminez   Composer
Joseph Pellegrini   Composer
Eric Bellinger   Composer
Steven Russell   Composer
Kenneth Coby   Composer,Producer
Underdogs   Producer,Instrumentation
Harmony Samuels   Composer,Vocal Producer,Instrumentation
Sherrod Lambert   Composer
Antario Holmes   Composer
Cleveland Browne   Composer
Carlos King   Engineer
Jose Cardoza   Engineer
Guordan Banks   Composer
H-Money   Producer
Donnell Shawn   Composer
Ben "Bengineer" Chang   Engineer
Grevine Gordon   Composer
Danny Cheung   Engineer
Danielle Terry   grooming
Ben Still   Engineer
Steve "Syn" Gilles   grooming
Mike Daley   Instrumentation,Additional Production
Joshua Valle   Composer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews