This Is Where We Live

This Is Where We Live

by Paco


Item is available through our marketplace sellers.


This Is Where We Live

Ivy's Dominique Durand and Andy Chase hold up their elegant indie pop stride for just a moment so that Paco's foxy strut can catch up. This Is Where We Live is a rock record. Of course Chase's signature studio tweaking is up to par and exactly polished. Durand's sophisticated vocal style couldn't be any more clear and crisp, so the dynamic that is This Is Where We Live is fully fashioned with temptation and mystery, and free of Ivy's classic pop sweetness. Having composer Michael Hampton and instrumentalist Gary Maurer walking close behind allows This Is Where We Live to settle in without any nerves or doubt. Paco's instrumental tribute to the French composer Erik Satie on the album opener is the perfect introduction. Soft-hued electronic pearls slowly mesh with layered electric guitars during sultry moments such as "My Love" and "Adore," but with a dash of brassy appeal. The playfully snooty "Lie" shimmies, girl group-style, with its seductive tale of deceit. Durand's smooth presentation maintains a lead in this bewitching game, eventually landing her bait on the string-synth laden "Who Do You Think You Are?" Undoubtedly Paco's slickest moment of the album, the lyrics play on ABC's "Poison Arrow" -- "You think you're the only dart/who's been thrown into this heart -- and its '60s-like cinematic surroundings floating above uphold Paco's post-rock/experiment overall. This Is Where We Live is a clever escapade in song and craft, so ready yourself to play again.

Product Details

Release Date: 05/18/2004
Label: Unfiltered
UPC: 0829917700724
catalogNumber: 77007

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Paco   Primary Artist
Michael Hampton   Acoustic Guitar,Percussion,Electric Guitar,Background Vocals
Shawn Pelton   Drums
Dominique Durand   Vocals
Ivor Hanson   Drums
Andy Chase   Acoustic Guitar,Bass,Percussion,Piano,Drums,Keyboards,Marimbas,Vocals,Background Vocals,Melodica,Soloist
Gary Maurer   Acoustic Guitar,Bass,Bass Guitar,Keyboards
Jeremy Adelman   Horn
Michael Hampton   Acoustic Guitar,Bass,Electric Guitar,Keyboards,Background Vocals
Ivor Hansen   Drums

Technical Credits

Michael Hampton   Programming,Audio Production
Dominique Durand   Composer
Sohrab Habibion   Producer,Art Direction,Additional Production
Andy Chase   Arranger,Composer,Programming,Producer,Engineer,Audio Production
Gary Maurer   Composer,Programming,Producer,Engineer,Additional Production
Geoff Sanoff   Engineer
Jeremy Adelman   Horn Arrangements
Michael Hampton   Composer,Programming,Producer,Engineer
Rudyard Lee Cullers   Engineer
Dave Boyle   Engineer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews