This Wicked Game

This Wicked Game

by Michelle Zink

Hardcover

$11.33 $17.99 Save 37% Current price is $11.33, Original price is $17.99. You Save 37%.
View All Available Formats & Editions

Temporarily Out of Stock Online

Eligible for FREE SHIPPING

Overview

This Wicked Game by Michelle Zink

For fans of Maggie Stiefvater and Holly Black comes a dark mystery set in a secret New Orleans voodoo society.

Claire Kincaid would love to be normal. But as a descendant of Marie Laveau, the most powerful voodoo queen in history, that’s just not possible. Even worse, Claire’s lack of interest in the craft makes her an outsider in her community, putting her secret romance with the voodoo Guild leader’s son at odds. But when mysterious strangers start requesting black market items from local voodoo shops, including the one her family owns, Claire decides to investigate. With the help of some unlikely allies and her gorgeous boyfriend, Claire must uncover the dark truths her family has kept hidden from her and unravel a dangerous plot that threatens to destroy every member of the Guild, including her family and the boy she loves.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780803737747
Publisher: Penguin Young Readers Group
Publication date: 11/14/2013
Pages: 368
Product dimensions: 5.60(w) x 8.30(h) x 1.50(d)
Age Range: 13 - 17 Years

About the Author

Michelle Zink is a mother of four living in Pine Bush, New York. Before turning to YA books, she was an executive at a marketing firm and then an antiques dealer. She is the author of the Prophecy of the Sisters trilogy and A Temptation of Angels.

What People are Saying About This

From the Publisher

* "Zink skillfully merges the mystique of old-world New Orleans with Claire’s present-day city—where a secretive network of families keeps the art of voodoo alive. This legendary setting provides a heavy tension and romance that is amplified by the secretive relationship between Claire and Alexandre Toussaint, another Guild firstborn." - VOYA, starred review

"Teens looking for mystery with a hint of the paranormal will enjoy this fast-paced story." - School Library Journal

"Students will be caught up in the mystery that surrounds the teens and will learn about the practice of voodoo. Characters are believable; overall this is an excellent choice for those who like the supernatural." - Library Media Connection

Praise for A Temptation of Angels:

"...this well-paced and delicately detailed story is full of recurring imagery, creeping terror, deftly wrought secondary characters, and slowly building sexual tension that has a gothic romance feel." – Booklist

"Plot and characters are well developed and teens are sure to enjoy the action and romance, as well as the supernatural elements of the story." – VOYA

Praise for Prophecy of the Sisters:

"Zink does not shy away from grounding her fantasy in the sisters' characters. This arresting story takes readers to other planes of existence." – Booklist (starred review)

"An intense and captivating story that gives a whole new meaning to sibling rivalry." – VOYA (starred review)

"This is a brooding, haunting tale of an ancient struggle between living and dead, with two sisters at its heart. It's Gothic, Edwardian, and absolutely un-put-down-able!" – Tamora Pierce, author of the New York Times bestselling Beka Cooper series

Prophecy of the Sisters was chosen as one of Booklist’s Top Ten Debut Novels of 2009 and as one of the Chicago Public Library’s Best Books for Young Readers. It was a 2010 Texas Lone Star Reading List selection and a New York Public Library "Stuff for the Teen Age" pick. The Audio Edition received NAPPA Gold Honors.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

This Wicked Game 3.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 2 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Claire Kincaid has never believed. Growing up in New Orleans, she has been surrounded by voodoo all of her life. What’s more, she is the great granddaughter of Marie Laveau, the most powerful voodoo priestess in history. As if that wasn’t enough, her parents hold high ranking positions in the Guild, the body of power in the voodoo community. Still she doesn’t believe. Claire has always believed in what she can see and touch, what is explainable. She has never had any patience for voodoo magic and hexes. However, something happens to change her mind and put her in danger. A woman comes to her shop looking for a black listed substance. They are not the only shop to be visited, though, and this puts everyone on high alert. When several of the shops are broken into and whispers of the Cold Blood spell start circulating, Clare knows something has to be done. She joins forces with Sasha and Allegra and her boyfriend Xander and they must fight magic with magic, if they have a hope of surviving. Clare must fight an unfamiliar magic, whether she believes or not, if they have any hope of surviving... I absolutely loved every page of this book! Michelle Zink always writes an amazing story with characters you will grow to love, but there are things that stand out in This Wicked Game that help the book stand out. It’s the first of Zink’s novels to be held in modern times. Her previous four novels have all involved places and times from the past. Though This Wicked Game doesn’t have the flowery Victorian dialogue, the book doesn’t suffer from this. Far from it. There’s something that makes the story in This Wicked Game more frightening and more real having it told in modern times and modern language. It also features Voodoo, something at once instantly fascinating and alluring. Zink does a magnificent job bring voodoo and New Orleans to life. It’s as if we’re right there with Claire, fighting alongside her. The other thing that works so well for This Wicked Game is a dark mystery of the novel. Her other books have featured a paranormal mystery of sorts, but this is the first time Zink has delved into full on mystery and it works so well for the novel. There are fantasy elements within the book, but they don’t over power it. The mystery is all consuming and you will want to read to the very end to find out what happens. Claire is another reason why this novel succeeds. She makes a believable progression from non-belief to believer though out the book and every emotion she goes through is pitch perfect. Her transition is so well done, so well crafted, that by the time Claire believes, we will too. Zink has outdone herself with This Wicked Game. It involves mystery, suspense, secrets from the past, betrayals and young love. It has everything you could want in a novel. I can’t wait to read it all over again.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago