This World Won't Last Forever, But Tonight We Can Pretend

This World Won't Last Forever, But Tonight We Can Pretend

by Matt Hires


Item is available through our marketplace sellers.


This World Won't Last Forever, But Tonight We Can Pretend

Matt Hires' second full-length studio album, 2013's This World Won't Last Forever, But Tonight We Can Pretend, features more of the Florida native's passionate and heartfelt pop. Hires has a knack for crafting hooky melodies that engage you with both lyrical honesty and a warm style of production that leaves room for both electric and acoustic guitars, banjos, and even some tasteful string arrangements. Hires also comes up with concrete imagery that helps ground the grandness of his ideas with a poignant eye for detail. On "I Am Not Here," Hires delves into how people's inclinations toward stereotyping each other keeps them from really knowing one another. He sings "Microwaves and IEDs/Happy Meals and Halloween/Things are getting better..." and "I am somebody's sucker, and somebody's fear/I am somebody's Shakespeare, but I am not here." But Hires isn't just interested in melancholy ideas about alienation in a modern world -- the man is also a lover. Several of the cuts here are sparkling, bright-eyed rockers that soar upon Hires' poetic romanticism. On the aptly titled "The Sound of Falling in Love," Hires croons "I hear the rhythm of the midnight rain/My heart is beating like a bullet train/To the melody in my blood." In some ways, Hires' music brings to mind Fun.'s mythic balladry and maverick, cross-genre defiance. However, on This World Won't Last Forever, But Tonight We Can Pretend, Hires ultimately achieves his creatively inspired ends by remaining rooted in a straightforward, if no less enjoyable, style of singer/songwriter pop.

Product Details

Release Date: 08/13/2013
Label: Atlantic
UPC: 0075678732300
catalogNumber: 534755

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Matt Hires   Primary Artist,Acoustic Guitar,Bass,Harmonica,Vocals,Background Vocals
Mark Browne   Bass
Matt Chamberlain   Drums
Eric Ivan Rosse   Organ,Piano,Keyboards
Bruce Watson   Electric Guitar
Alex Dezen   Electric Guitar,Background Vocals
Kaveh Rastegar   Bass
Elliot Jacobson   Drums
Chris Reynolds   Percussion
Lily Kershaw   Background Vocals

Technical Credits

Eric Ivan Rosse   Arranger,Composer,Programming,Producer,Engineer,String Arrangements
Daniel Tashian   Composer
Jason Lehning   Composer
Espen Lind   Composer,Engineer,Instrumentation
Ross Peterson   Engineer
Danny D.   Executive Producer,Management
Alex Dezen   Composer
Jamie Kenney   Composer,Producer
Mark Obriski   Art Direction
Espionage   Producer
Tim Blacksmith   Executive Producer,Management
Matt Hires   Composer
Francis Murray   Engineer
Busbee   Composer
Amund Bjorklund   Composer,Engineer,Instrumentation
Chris Reynolds   Engineer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews