by King Creosote


$13.62 $13.99 Save 3% Current price is $13.62, Original price is $13.99. You Save 3%.
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Want it by Tuesday, October 23  Order now and choose Expedited Shipping during checkout.



Scottish singer/songwriter Kenny Anderson has been quietly building an impressive arsenal of material since his 1994 debut under the King Creosote moniker. His quick wit and gentle demeanor are steeped in regional whimsy, and his skewed but sweet pop songs can come just as easily wrapped in the sepia brown leaves of traditional folk as they can the Glaswegian indie pop of bands like Frightened Rabbit and Belle & Sebastian. The 12 songs on Thrawn have been culled from six studio albums released between 2003 and 2009 (Anderson has released more than two dozen albums independently) and serve as an excellent introduction to his work. His wildly varying styles and occasional preciousness may turn off some listeners, but there is great purity in his delivery, and songs like "Homeboy," "Missionary," and the powerful ballad "And the Racket They Made" manage to transcend the emotional aloofness and easy irony of modern indie rock without needing to look back and wink.

Product Details

Release Date: 02/22/2011
Label: Domino
UPC: 0801390029028
catalogNumber: 290
Rank: 71969

Album Credits

Performance Credits

King Creosote   Primary Artist
Neil Young   Bass Guitar,Electric Guitar
Boguslaw Kostecki   Violin
Paul Savage   Percussion
Bruce White   Viola
Jonathan Quarmby   Keyboards
David Daniels [cello]   Cello
Semay Wu   Cello
Leo Abrahams   Bass,Electric Guitar
Gavin Brown   Drums
Jon Hopkins   Piano,Harmonium,Keyboards,electronics
Kenny Anderson   Acoustic Guitar,Banjo,Mandolin,Percussion,Accordion,Electric Bass,Keyboards,Vocals,Hammered Dulcimer
Tom Knott   Horn
Christian Madden   Organ,Piano,fender rhodes
Nicky Madden   Horn,Baritone Saxophone
Gareth Maybury   Trombone,Horn,Triangle
Richard Young   Percussion,Drums,Vibes
Alex Berry   Bass,Double Bass
Perry Montague-Mason   Violin
Nathan Sudders   Bass
Lisa Lindley-Jones   Vocals
Gavin Wright   Violin
Christopher Tombling   Violin
Johnny Lynch   Electric Guitar
Emma Smith   Violin
Scott Fitzcharles   Bass
Kate Tunstall   Background Vocals
Jason Kavanagh   Sampling
Andy Robinson   Drums

Technical Credits

Paul Savage   Producer,Engineer
Jon Hopkins   Producer,Additional Production
Kenny Anderson   Composer,Producer
Midget Squid   Layout
Tom Knott   Producer,Engineer
Christian Madden   Producer
Nicky Madden   Producer,Engineer
Giles Hatton   Producer
Kevin Bacon   Producer
Mark Sutherland   Engineer
Jon Quarmby   Producer
Jennifer Gordon   Composer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews