Threads of Silk

Threads of Silk

by Amanda Roberts

NOOK Book(eBook)

$3.99
Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
LendMe® See Details
Want a NOOK ? Explore Now

Overview

Threads of Silk by Amanda Roberts

When I was a child, I thought my destiny was to live and die on the banks of the Xiangjiang River as my family had done for generations. I never imagined that my life would lead me to the Forbidden City and the court of China's last Empress.

Born in the middle of nowhere, Yaqian, a little embroidery girl from Hunan Province, finds her way to the imperial court, a place of intrigue, desire, and treachery. From the bed of an Emperor, the heart of a Prince, and the right side of an Empress, Yaqian weaves her way through the most turbulent decades of China's history and witnesses the fall of the Qing Dynasty.

Fans of Amy Tan, Lisa See, Anchee Min, and Pearl S. Buck are sure to love this debut novel by Amanda Roberts. This richly descriptive and painstakingly researched novel brings the opulence of the Qing Court to life as Yaqian and Empress Cixi's lives intertwine over six decades.

Product Details

BN ID: 2940157151393
Publisher: Red Empress Publishing
Publication date: 09/20/2016
Sold by: Barnes & Noble
Format: NOOK Book
Pages: 400
Sales rank: 66,296
File size: 838 KB

About the Author

AMANDA ROBERTS is a writer, editor, and teacher who has been living in China since 2010. Amanda has an MA in English from the University of Central Missouri. While in college she also studied Chinese language and history. She has been published in magazines, newspapers, and anthologies around the world and she regularly contributes to numerous blogs. She is the author of the Crazy Dumplings series of cookbooks and is a well-known blogger in China. Amanda can be found all over the Internet, but her home is TwoAmericansinChina.com.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Threads of Silk 4.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 8 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I found the book very engaging from start to finish and enjoyed the character development as well. Plus I learned a bit about 19th century Chinese history and culture as well. I look forward to more from the author.
Anonymous 9 months ago
Great interesting read
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Loved the story. Having been to the Forbidden City and adopted girls from China (one from Hunan where some of this is set) I can picture some of the scenes very well. Other than one section with some adult oriented themes (and the reason for the loss of the star as I think the point could have been made with perhaps a little less description) I would have my girls reading this now. The double sided embroidery they refer to is amazing if you've ever seen it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I do like reading stories of China history. This one was ok but not my favorite.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A .most beautiful story. Tells so much about old China and how it worked. Also spiced with romance. Good read!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Could not put the book down until early the next morning.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Wonderful story,entertaining and interesting.
Mirella More than 1 year ago
From it's beautiful cover and compelling title, this is a lovey book. It's a biographical historical about China's Empress Cixi. It was a time of immense change and cultural divisions as the Western world with its new world ways was creeping into China's culture. The tale is not directly about Empress Cixi; rather, it is told through the point of view of a very poor, but talented child whose embroidery skills drew the attention of the Emperor. Thus the child was brought to the Forbidden City where she grew to womanhood. Fraught with intrigue, espionage, and politics, Yaqian must maneuver through the danger to survive. And survive she does. Through wit and wisdom, honesty and loyalty, she earns the trust of the Empress. A lovely, well researched story regarding China's political history and the beautiful skill of making silk and the lush silk embroidery. Love, relationships, perseverence, and courage are all themes woven into a fabulous tale.