Three American Architects: Richardson, Sullivan, and Wright, 1865-1915

Three American Architects: Richardson, Sullivan, and Wright, 1865-1915

by James F. O'Gorman


View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Wednesday, September 25


O'Gorman discusses the individual and collective achievement of the recognized trinity of American architecture: Henry Hobson Richardson (1838-86), Louis Sullivan (1856-1924), and Frank Lloyd Wright (1867-1959). He traces the evolution of forms created during these architects' careers, emphasizing the interrelationships among them and focusing on the designs and executed buildings that demonstrate those interrelationships. O'Gorman also shows how each envisioned the building types demanded by the growth of nineteenth-century cities and suburbs—the downtown skyscraper and the single-family home.

[A] brilliant analysis . . . a major contribution to our understanding of the beginnings of modern American architecture."—David Hamilton Eddy, Times Higher Education Supplement.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780226620725
Publisher: University of Chicago Press
Publication date: 09/28/1992
Edition description: 1
Pages: 170
Sales rank: 1,087,038
Product dimensions: 6.00(w) x 9.00(h) x 0.60(d)

Table of Contents

List of Illustrations
Introduction: Muse, Master, and Man
1. Disciplining the Picturesque
2. Buildings for City and Suburb
3. Form Follows Precedent
4. The Tall Office Building Inconsistently Considered
5. A Long Foreground
6. The Prarie House
Selected Reading

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews