Three Dog Nightmare: The Continuing Chuck Negron Story

Three Dog Nightmare: The Continuing Chuck Negron Story

by Chuck Negron


$12.76 $15.95 Save 20% Current price is $12.76, Original price is $15.95. You Save 20%. View All Available Formats & Editions

Temporarily Out of Stock Online

Eligible for FREE SHIPPING


Three Dog Nightmare: The Continuing Chuck Negron Story by Chuck Negron

Chuck Negron was the voice of rock & roll in the late 1960s and early 1970s as a lead singer of Three Dog Night. The band sold out stadiums, had 18 consecutive Billboard Top 20 hits, and had all the lavish excesses that fame could buy. For Chuck, that included a {dollar}2000-a-day drug habit.

In Three Dog Nightmare, Chuck Negron shares his story from growing up in a tough Bronx neighborhood without a father to reaching the pinnacle of rock & roll stardom. The sex, drugs and rock & roll lifestyle that left him spinning out of control. His story takes you through his decades-long downward spiral, including multiple near-death scares (from how he just missed being at the scene of the Wonderland murders in 1981 to being attacked at gunpoint by a gang member in an abandoned crack house in central LA), and tremendous struggles (more than three dozen failed trips through drug rehabilitation facilities, two failed marriages, and watching the painful drug-related deaths of many friends), to winding up homeless after selling his property to pay off his drug dealers.

But Chuck's story is also one of survival and reinvention. Chuck shares the struggle that led to his ultimate recovery from addiction in 1991 and his 16 years of sobriety. Yet, he is still paying the toll for his years of abuse, including rebuilding his relationship with his family. He shares the new low that he hit in 2005 when he faced the fact that his own son was a heroin addict, and he experienced first-hand the pain he had put his own loved ones through.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781933669137
Publisher: Literary Architects, LLC
Publication date: 01/01/2008
Pages: 316
Product dimensions: 5.54(w) x 8.44(h) x 0.65(d)

Table of Contents

Acknowledgments     ix
Scars on My Soul     1
Haunted by Abandonment     4
Something Magical Happened     13
The Best Years of My Life     20
An Accident Waiting to Happen     30
May Company Misery     36
Peyote Ends My Military Career     39
I Knew It Was Something Great     47
One Was a Lonely Number     57
Opening the Door to Hell     70
Joy to the World?     77
Making Millions and Stoned All the Time     83
Showbiz Hardball     94
Dear, This Isn't What It Looks Like     107
Threw Up My Guts and Loved It     115
You Have to Stop Having So Much Sex     118
Two Dog Night     127
Burnt, Beat-Up, Tired, and Busted     136
Married to Heroin     145
Full-Time Junkie: Drugs, Chaos, and Danger     151
Pain in My Father's Eyes     160
Beaten to Death with Baseball Bats     168
You're Going to Jail     172
Selling My Gold     179
Put Yourself Out of Your Misery     193
I'll Rip Your Throat Out     200
On the Streets and Not Worth Killing     211
Dancing Pigs in the Nut Ward     219
The Beginning of a Miracle     227
The Ultimate Price     237
Meant to Sing Again     240
Coming Back     243
The Dogs Come Out     247
Anger and Loss     252
The Mi'kmaq     257
Joe     261
Spreading the Word     263
Chuckie     270
Reclaiming My Past     275
Embrace the Day     280
Gifts and Blessings     284
Afterword     290
Appendix     294
Interview Sources     303
Bibliography     305
Index     310

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Three Dog Nightmare 5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 2 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I have never been so moved by a biography as graphic as this one by anyone before. Because the band broke up shortly after the height of their success, the drug problems for those in the band, were never really made public or that I had heard of. This is truly a remarkale book and I wish Chuck all the success in the world as he continues with his recovery.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Having spent a great deal of my youth listening to and my middle age rediscovering the music of Three Dog Night, The Guess Who, The Eagles, and a few other favorites, I was compelled to buy this book after an Atlanta radio interview Chuck Negron did. I couldn't put it down. I was fascinated with the story of his childhood, college years and the time he traveled with the band. This is one of the best, no holds barred, don't feel sorry for me, cause I did it to myself books that I ever read. From the glory days to the deceptions, and gut wrenching tales of self abuse to the redemption of a soul nearly lost to us forever, I say 'Thanks, Chuck'.