Thwarting the Duke

Thwarting the Duke

NOOK Book(eBook)

$3.99

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now
LEND ME® See Details

Product Details

BN ID: 2940157630133
Publisher: Night Shift Publishing
Publication date: 05/24/2016
Series: When the Duke Comes to Town , #2
Sold by: Barnes & Noble
Format: NOOK Book
Sales rank: 150,754
File size: 1 MB

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Thwarting the Duke 4.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 4 reviews.
MADreaderMD More than 1 year ago
These are fun novellas featuring the great-nieces and nephews of the Duke of Danby. Having been so successful marrying off his grandchildren, he's moved on to the extended family. In Lady Hope's Dashing Devil, Lady Hope Post is sure she'll never love again after the man she loved died last year. She's absolutely not going to fall for the man's cousin who now holds his title and is determined to be a proper earl, unlike his nefarious cousin. It's great to see Thaddeus Baxter, the Earl of Kilworth, who most see as arrogant and proper, flummoxed by the woman he's secretly admired. In Her Reluctant Lord, Laurence Garner never wanted to be a viscount and he doesn't want to escort Miss Agatha Chase through the season. But since his brother died, he's come home from the sea to take up the family responsibilities, and as a favor to his friend, he's agreed to escort the young lady. The trouble is, she seems to be completely boring. Only when a crisis with her brothers arises does he see the take-charge, caring woman she really is. In It's in the Duke's Kiss, Lady Emmaline Radcliffe tries to be a proper lady, but she can never seem to please her mother. She's had a crush on Lord Nathaniel since she was a young girl. She'd just like to spend a little time with him to see if he's a good match for her. His brother, Lucien, the Duke of Blackbourne, would like to see Nathaniel settle down and behave properly. He's sure that Nathaniel would only ruin Emma and move on to the next girl. It's only proper that he try to protect Emma, right?
MyBookAddictionandMore More than 1 year ago
This is #2 in the mesmerizing "When the Duke Comes to Town". "Thwarting the Duke" is by three of my favorite Regency Historical Romance authors, Ava Stone, Julie Johnstone, and Sue London. All three stories are, well written, with well devoloped characters and captivating stories. What happens when the Duke of Danby comes to London. ..trouble, trouble and more trouble. But can these ladies find the man of their dreams and a HEA. Fast paced, with drama, passion and antics, you want expect. What an awesome, powerful and ever unexpected collection. These ladies are powerful, amazing storytellers, who leave the reader turning pages and in awe. Strongly recommended for fans of Regency Romance, England and awesome collections. An wonderful way to find new authors and check out their unique talents. A must read, Historical Romance! I enjoy Regency era, and this was definitely a keeper! Received for an honest review. All opinions are my own. Rating: 4.5 Heat rating: Mild Reviewed by: AprilR
dfosterbooks More than 1 year ago
Lady Hope’s Dashing Devil – Ava Stone Lady Hope Post’s life was devastated by the untimely death of the man she loved. Now, a year later, she doesn’t care whose wife she is to become at the hands of her great uncle, the Duke of Danby. Thaddeus Baxter, Earl of Kilworth, is striving to restore the family name after the death of his rogue cousin, the former Earl of Kilworth. He is definitely not looking for a wife. A carriage mishap, “blackmail”, & unspoken apologies soon prove that a person may not always get what they thought they want. As always, a delightful tale by Ava Stone; she has an amazing talent for making the reader feel the characters emotions all while wanting to shake sense into them. Her Reluctant Lord by Sue London With younger brothers with nicknames like Fox, Timid, & Trouble it’s no wonder that Agatha Chase has little thought to her future. Taking care of these three & trying to keep their home together consumes all her time. Until her great-uncle, the Duke of Danby, sends a dictate that she is to be sponsored for a London season something that Agatha does not want. Laurence Garner, Viscount of Rothering, wants to return to his naval position; he does not want the title that belonged to his dead brother. Laurence abhors the title & the responsibilities that go with it–he’d rather be ordering his crew about than managing estates. Nor does he want the responsibility of escorting the great-niece of the Duke of Danby but his sense of honor & loyalty have him agreeing to help his best friend out. Coached in the ways of the ton Agatha plays the part of a simpering miss to perfection while seething about the obnoxious lord who is attending her. Irritated that he has been wrangled into squiring this simpering miss about Laurence soon comes to realize there is more beneath the lady’s veneer. Brothers who cause trouble, a lively sponsor, a harridan of a great-aunt add the right touch to the interaction between Agatha and Laurence. Sue London writes in a way that the reader feels the way Agatha & Laurence feel in their thoughts & actions with the other. A sweet tale of “don’t judge the book by its cover”. It’s In the Duke’s Kiss by Julie Johnstone Lady Emmaline Radcliffe has loved Lord Nathaniel since she was eight years old; since the day he wiped a tear from her check & the ball he asked her to dance when no one else would. Now if she could only get his attention to see if he is as she remembers to hopefully garner a proposal. Seeing her chance Emmaline skates off towards Lord Nathaniel & his older brother the Duke of Blackbourne-who is the epitome of the type of man she will not marry. Seeing her chance Emma skates by Nathaniel & the scowling Duke. What happens next will change her life in ways she never imagined. Lord Nathaniel, profligate second son, lives his life to thwart his older brother, the stodgy, serious, controlling Duke of Blackbourne. Thumbing his nose at his brother Nathaniel sets out in in pursuit of the lovely Lady Emmaline Radcliffe setting events in motion that changes everything while changing nothing. Lucien, Duke of Blackbourne, is constantly cleaning up his brother’s messes, Lucien vows to let Nathaniel suffer the consequences of his next screw up; until it threatens the life of the lovely Lady Emmaline. Misunderstandings, matchmaking mamas & a searing kiss change everything they thought they wanted. Ms. Johnstone has the amazing ability to make the reader feel as if they are the storyline characters
redhotpv More than 1 year ago
Book 1 - Lady Hope's Dashing Devil by Ava Stone An overturned phaeton in the park is the start of an entertaining story. The heroine (Lady Hope) is a free-spirited woman who is holding on to the love of a man who died. It was the heroes phaeton (The Earl of Kilworth) that she damaged which starts the amusing story. The Earl fights his attraction to the lady, but the elusive Earl of Danbury has plans for them! Will they both find what they are looking for? This is a very good story that will keep you entertained from start to finish. Book 2 - Her Reluctant Lord by Sue London Agatha (our heroine) is charged with taking care of her two younger brothers - a daunting task - so she has no time to find a love match for herself as she puts her brothers above everything else. Laurence, the Viscount of Rothering, assumes his title as the result of the death of his brother and is clearly feeling overwhelmed and stressed out. Now his best friend asks a favor of him - escorting the niece of the Duke of Danbury around London which the Viscount accepts. Agatha acts like a "Lady" hiding her true self, and the Viscount thinks that she is a beautiful but simpering and boring miss. If she does not show her true self will she discover love? Will the Viscount ever discover who she really is? Read this very amusing story and find out if the niece of the elusive Duke of Danbury finds her HEA. Another great read from this author! Book 3 - It's in the Duke's Kiss by Julie Johnstone Ah, young love! It's wonderful, but do we really know who we love when we are so young? Lady Emma has loved Nathaniel for a very long time. Nathaniel is a charming but reckless, devil-may-care rake with no thoughts of responsibility. Nathaniel's older brother is the very staid Duke of Blackbourne who tries to guide his reckless younger brother without success. Will Emma discover who Nathaniel really is? Will she find love? If so, who will it be with? If the Duke of Danbury has anything to say about it then she will have a shot at finding her true love. Loved, loved, loved this story! Julie has a way of pulling me into a story that leaves me breathless and wanting more. I was totally captivated by the characters and the story. Very well done! Very talented author!