Roll Over and Play Dead (Kate McCall Series #2)

Roll Over and Play Dead (Kate McCall Series #2)

by Gail Oust

NOOK Book(eBook)

$3.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
LendMe® See Details
Want a NOOK ? Explore Now

Overview

Roll Over and Play Dead (Kate McCall Series #2) by Gail Oust

"Far superior . . . this uniquely capricious mystery will engage readers from the very first page to the surprising conclusion." --Publishers Weekly on Murder Is Dicey

Welcome to Serenity Cove, a peaceful Southern community where the residents like to play dice, play golf and, when foul play moves in, play detective.

When Claudia Connors returns from Vegas with her new husband in tow, Kate McCall and her friends in the tight-knit community of Serenity Cove are dying to meet the man she eloped with, the actor Lance Ledeaux. And Lance is every bit as handsome and charming as Claudia said, right up to the minute he persuades the Babes to take part in a play he's written and starring in. But it's not long before Kate discovers that the B-list actor's real talent lies in frivolously squandering Claudia's considerable nest egg.

The tension is thick as rehearsals begin. When the prop gun turns out to be real and Lance is shot dead, all eyes turn to Claudia as the main suspect. With the local sheriff convinced of Claudia's guilt and threatening to put her behind bars for life, it's up to Kate and her friends to start digging for clues to find out who played the starring role in murder.

This book was originally published under the title 'Til Dice Do Us Part.

Praise for Rosemary and Crime by Gail Oust!

"[A] quality first in a Southern cozy series. . . . This is a must-read for fans of Carolyn Hart's Death on Demand series, as well as those who like culinary mysteries." --Publishers Weekly

"Gail Oust has crafted an excellent mystery. . . . Truly a cut above--and highly recommended!" --Donna Andrews, New York Times bestselling author of Hen of the Baskervilles

"Fans of Jenn McKinlay and Ellery Adams will want to add this series to their reading lists." --Booklist

"Gail Oust has whipped up a killer read. . . . Rosemary and Crime is a character-driven zip zap of a tale with a robust mystery that readers will relish." --Jenn McKinlay, New York Times bestselling author of Book, Line, and Sinker

"A delicious new mystery series guaranteed to make you hungry for more. Gail Oust's warm, witty characters bring southern charm to life." --Krista Davis, national bestselling author of The Diva Digs Up the Dirt

"Gail Oust has created a delicious new addition to the world of cozy mysteries. I'm definitely adding her to my must-read list." --Jacklyn Brady, national bestselling author of Arsenic and Old Cake

Product Details

BN ID: 2940151037822
Publisher: Beyond the Page Publishing
Publication date: 09/23/2015
Series: Kate McCall (Bunco Babes) Series , #2
Sold by: Barnes & Noble
Format: NOOK Book
Sales rank: 150,552
File size: 558 KB

About the Author

Friends often accuse Gail Oust of flunking retirement. While working as a nurse/vascular technologist, Gail penned nine historical romances under the pseudonym Elizabeth Turner for Avon, Pocket, Berkley, and Kensington. It wasn’t until after she and her husband retired to South Carolina that inspiration struck for a mystery. Hearing the words “maybe it’s a dead body” while golfing with friends fired her imagination for this series. Gail is currently writing the Spice Shop Mysteries for Minotaur/St. Martin’s. When she isn’t reading, writing, or sleeping, she can usually be found on the golf course or hanging out with friends.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

'Til Dice Do Us Part (Bunco Babes Series #2) 5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 2 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
harstan More than 1 year ago
Claudia Connors returns home after spending time in Vegas. Her retiree buddies the Bunco Babes welcome home one of their charter members. However, she shocks the group when she introduces them to her new husband, actor Lance Ledeaux. They are further stunned when Lance explains to the babes that he plans to direct and perform in a play in which he wants all of them to have roles in the production. The normally suspicious babes are won over by his offer and his general charm. However Kate McCall overhears a fight between the newlyweds over expense and becomes concerned for her friend. Soon afterward during rehearsal, someone loaded a gun with real bullets, leaving Lance dead and the cops suspecting his wife killed him. Kate leads the Bunco Babes' investigation into the homicide. This is an entertaining amateur sleuth as the Bunco Babes reject the notion of tossing dice during visiting hours to the state pen. Fans will enjoy the camaraderie of the BFFs as they Whack 'n Roll their way through their investigation with humor, concern and catching optimism. Gail Oust rolls an eleven with this enjoyable winner. Harriet Klausner