Tinseltown Rebellion

Tinseltown Rebellion

by Frank Zappa

Item is available through our marketplace sellers.


Tinseltown Rebellion

An uneven, nearly all-live double-record set, Tinseltown Rebellion mixes new material and versions of Zappa oldies like "Love of My Life," "I Ain't Got No Heart," "Tell Me You Love Me," "Brown Shoes Don't Make It," and a reworked "Peaches en Regalia," titled "Peaches III." These songs, as well as the band's stellar instrumental work, provide the album's best moments. Elsewhere, the title track is an only partially accurate satire of punk; Zappa's intentionally smarmy crowd banter is featured on "Dance Contest" and "Panty Rap," the latter a bit involving the collection of female audience members' underwear. More problematic is the sometimes violent sexual juvenilia of songs like "Fine Girl," "Easy Meat," "Pick Me, I'm Clean," and "Bamboozled by Love"; if, as Zappa insisted, this part of his oeuvre simply mixes dumb fun and satire of both sexes' peccadillos, with no underlying misogyny, it's rather difficult to tell.

Product Details

Release Date: 09/25/2012
Label: Zappa Records
UPC: 0824302386224
catalogNumber: 3862


  1. Fine Girl
  2. Easy Meat
  3. For the Young Sophisticate
  4. Love of My Life
  5. I Ain't Got No Heart
  6. Panty Rap
  7. Tell Me You Love Me
  8. Now You See It - Now You Don't
  9. Dance Contest
  10. The Blue Light
  11. Tinsel Town Rebellion
  12. Pick Me, I'm Clean
  13. Bamboozled by Love
  14. Brown Shoes Don't Make It
  15. Peaches III

Album Credits

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews