×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

To Helen Back: A River Road Mystery
     

To Helen Back: A River Road Mystery

3.9 34
by Susan McBride
 

See All Formats & Editions

In this fun and sassy new mystery, USA Today bestselling author Susan McBride introduces us to Helen Evans, a modern-day Miss Marple who must expose a murderer in a town full of suspects!

When Milton Grone turns up dead in tiny River Bend, Illinois, nearly all the would-be suspects have the perfect alibi: attending Thursday night's town meeting. And

Overview

In this fun and sassy new mystery, USA Today bestselling author Susan McBride introduces us to Helen Evans, a modern-day Miss Marple who must expose a murderer in a town full of suspects!

When Milton Grone turns up dead in tiny River Bend, Illinois, nearly all the would-be suspects have the perfect alibi: attending Thursday night's town meeting. And as Milton was hardly beloved, plenty of folks had a reason to do him in ...

Grone's next-door neighbor was furious about a fence that encroached on her property, among other wicked deeds. A pair of zealous tree huggers wanted Grone's hide for selling a parcel of pristine land to a water park. Grone's current and ex-wife both wanted a cut of the profits, which Grone seemed unwilling to share. Even the town preacher knew Grone's soul was beyond saving.

Though most of River Bend would rather reward the killer than hang him, Sheriff Biddle's not about to let this one go … and neither is Helen Evans. With a penchant for puzzles and an ear for innuendo, Helen quickly fingers the culprit before Biddle puts the wrong suspect in jail.

Editorial Reviews

Denise Swanson
“To Helen Back, the first in Susan McBride’s new River Road mystery series, is packed with small-town charm. The clever senior sleuth is a cross between Miss Marple and your favorite grandma, and the intriguing plot will keep readers turning the pages until the surprising conclusion.”
Charlaine Harris
“I’ll read anything by Susan McBride.”

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780062359759
Publisher:
HarperCollins Publishers
Publication date:
05/27/2014
Series:
River Road Mystery , #1
Sold by:
HARPERCOLLINS
Format:
NOOK Book
Pages:
272
Sales rank:
18,787
File size:
671 KB

Meet the Author

Susan McBride is the USA Today bestselling author of Blue Blood and the Debutante Dropout Mysteries that include The Good Girl's Guide to MurderThe Lone Star Lonely Hearts ClubNight of the Living Deb, Too Pretty to Die, and Say Yes to the Death. She also writes the bestselling River Road Mysteries and has penned three women’s fiction titles: The Truth About Love and LightningLittle Black Dress, and The Cougar Club. She chronicled her bout with breast cancer in the short memoir, In the Pink: How I Met the Perfect (Younger) Man, Survived Breast Cancer, and Found True Happiness After Forty. She lives in St. Louis, Missouri, with her husband and daughter.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

To Helen Back (River Road Series #1) 3.9 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 34 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is only 199 pages long. It is part of a series of stand alone books. It was only $1.99. It is about a small town in northern Illinois, located on the banks of the Mississippi river. Everyone in the town seems to be senior citizens, except for a few noisy preschoolers and wayward 17 year old girl. This book is chick lit and the author even admits it is akin to Christie's Miss Marple series, although tongue in cheeck. This a completely tame murder mystery. The worst violence, other than the murder of a mean, old man, is several hair pulling cat fights between getting up in years woman, which only makes the incidents funny. The plot is rather silly, the inhabitants of the town sillier, yet it all comes together to make this well edited, cozy enjoyable. It is a fast read geared primarily to older women, but I think anyone with a funny bone and a forgiving nature, in their love of books will like this series. It is just a simple, fun, cozy read. AD
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Finished this book in just a little over one day. It was very entertaining and kept me guessing until the last couple of chapters. I am looking forward to the next book in the series.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Harmless little mystery situated on the Mississippi River in Illinois, featuring a Senior citizen, grandmother sleuth. I would have preferred more character development, so that I could "get to know" the people in the town a little better, and care about them. I found myself reading it mainly to see where the author was headed with the story line. Decent book, the writing was good, and it was well edited. Content: 209 pages, no sex, no swearing, no gore.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I really enjoyed this book. I felt like I stepped into this small town. The under currents of feelings and motives just below the surface kept you guessing on who did it. Keep up the good work.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Fun amateur sleuth with a quirky cast of characters. I look forward to the next in the series.
BookLady333 More than 1 year ago
Very good cozy murder mystery. I have read books in the author's other series and liked them. This one's different  but as much fun. I bought the paperback and it is 260 pages with an extra 14 pages for preview of Mad as Helen). I liked the amateur sleuth Helen very much and also liked havin the mutliple pts of view. For fans of AGatha Christie, Carolyn Hart, etc.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A great,fun book to read. I enjoyed it very much and am waiting for the next in the series to come out on 7/29. I did buy the first book in her other series and will be starting it in a few minutes. Posted by Pamisue
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I just knew I was right about who the murderer was but I was so wrong. Enjoyable read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
First time reader of author ,Susan McBride. Enjoyed it and all the twist and turns in this delightful book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Well written, lots of possible suspects all of whom have an almost perfect alibi! A great "Whodunit".
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It's so rare these days to find books that are good stories, without all the sex, violence and tons of dirty words. We old folks (over 60) still want to buy books and love to read but it's hard to find good books. Will keep Susan McBride on my read list.
Patricia-RoomWithBooks More than 1 year ago
The cast of character in this fascinating "whodunit" is remarkable! I was enthralled from the very first page of To Helen Back by Susan McBride. It was hard to put down until I found out who the culprit turned out to be. Ms. McBride is an artiste as well as a best selling author. I highly recommend To Helen Back and I'm hooked on the River Road Mysteries. The next release, Mad as Helen, can't come soon enough for me!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great beach book!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Love this simple lady and her thought processes to solve the crime. Life in a small town is hilarious. Everyone knows about everybody's business. Can't wait for book #4 to come out.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This was a fun new cozy for me. I know l will have fun with this series. MEB
cblafer More than 1 year ago
Characters are enjoyable, but not compelling. I never got attached to any of them. Prose is enjoyable. Very nice writing style. Plot is OK. Mystery is OK. Light and fluffy. I enjoyed it and may try another.
cottontopSG More than 1 year ago
goo ready enjoyable afternoon
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Pretty good; kept me guessing.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Best book to get in a cozy spot with and snuggle up with!!!!!!:)
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is a very good mystery. Not a lot of violence, just a scrappy older lady with a nose for sleuthing. Recommend.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
read your freebies 2014 , cozy mystery,read 12/26-27, 3 1/2 stars Milton Grone is dead, and most of the town is pretty happy about it. Milton moved back into town after hisparets' death to collect his inheritance. He stuck around for spite. Never friendly, he ticked off just about everyone and argued with the rest. And, miserly as he was, he'd recently sold a valuable piece of land his father had promised the town but never legally wrote down in his will, to some developer and never told anyone, even his wife, what they'd paid him for it. So, who killed Milton? That's what the Sheriff wants to find out. He turns to Helen as a sounding board and together, they figure it out. This is a fairly predictable, light-hearted mystery surrounding Helen Evans, an "Agatha Christie wannabe" grandmother who lives in a tiny town of 200 in Illinois. You almost figure out who-dun-it fairly quickly, but read along because its not bogged down in technospeak. I'd read another if I happened on it, but won't go looking on purpose.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago