Tony MacAlpine Collection: The Shrapnel Years

Tony MacAlpine Collection: The Shrapnel Years

by Tony MacAlpine


$15.95 $17.99 Save 11% Current price is $15.95, Original price is $17.99. You Save 11%.

Temporarily Out of Stock Online

Eligible for FREE SHIPPING


Tony MacAlpine Collection: The Shrapnel Years

Along with Greg Howe, Tony MacAlpine was the only other African-American guitarist on the Shrapnel roster in the '80s. As with the other artists on the label during this era, MacAlpine was certainly "fleet-fingered on the fretboard" -- in other words, he could solo extremely fast over a heavy metal accompaniment. MacAlpine has issued albums for the label on a somewhat regular basis over the years (save for 1987-1991), and that is precisely what the 2006 compilation Tony MacAlpine Collection: The Shrapnel Years focuses on. Although some passed him off as being too influenced by Yngwie Malmsteen on his early solo releases, MacAlpine later began specializing in Joe Satriani-esque instrumentals, which is what Collection focuses on. Standouts include the title track from his 1986 solo debut, Edge of Insanity (which saw MacAlpine backed by a highly skilled rhythm section -- bassist Billy Sheehan and drummer Steve Smith), as well as a pair of tracks from his 2001 release, Chromaticity -- the title track and "Christmas Island." While MacAlpine continues to issue solo albums on his own, he can be seen nowadays as a member of Steve Vai's solo band, where -- interestingly -- he usually favors playing keyboards over the six-string.

Product Details

Release Date: 03/14/2006
Label: Shrapnel
UPC: 0026245118423
catalogNumber: 1184


  1. Wheel of Fortune
  2. Agrionia
  3. The Witch and the Priest
  4. Edge of Insanity
  5. Champion
  6. Rats with Wings
  7. The Violin Song
  8. Tower of London
  9. The Sage
  10. Time Table
  11. Christmas Island
  12. Chromaticity

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Tony MacAlpine   Primary Artist,Guitar,Piano,Keyboards,Piano (Grand)
Steve Smith   Drums
Billy Sheehan   Bass
Deen Castronovo   Drums
Tony Franklin   Bass
Jens Johansson   Keyboards
Mark "Mooka" Rennick   Overdubs
Mike Terrana   Drums
Glen Sobel   Drums
Barry Sparks   Bass

Technical Credits

Steve Smith   Producer
Robert Biles   Drum Engineering
Brant Biles   Engineer
Larry Bones Dennison   Producer
Stephen M. Fontano   Producer,Engineer
Steve Fontano   Producer,Engineer
Brian Levi   Producer,Engineer
Tony MacAlpine   Composer,Producer,Liner Notes
Robert Margouleff   Producer
Joe Marquez   Engineer
Shawn Morris   Engineer
Mark "Mooka" Rennick   overdub engineer
Mike Varney   Producer,Executive Producer
Dave Stephens   Graphic Design
Glen Sobel   Producer
Arjan MacNamara   Engineer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews