Pub. Date:


by James TalleyJames Talley


$11.75 $12.99 Save 10% Current price is $11.75, Original price is $12.99. You Save 10%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Friday, October 1


Touchstones includes 16 newly recorded songs that originally appeared on James Talley's acclaimed Capitol albums in the mid-'70s, but it's much more than a trip down memory lane. These are the vivid, honest observations of a poet who offers sensitive and bold commentary on both the ways of the heart and the issues facing today's worrisome world, rendering each palpable with his every breath. Hearing Talley caress the lyrics of the beautiful "Deep Country Blues," you sense his abiding affection for a rare woman who got away, and it may trigger the memory of sweet perfume wafting on a spring breeze. Listening to his reflections on the temper of the times -- in "Are They Gonna Make Us Outlaws Again?" and "What Will There Be for the Children?" -- you gain a deeper understanding of a society that takes too much of its populace for granted. Country love songs don't get any more wistful or poignantly rendered than "Sometimes I Think About Suzanne," unless it's Talley's quiet, devastating blues number "Up from Georgia." And it's been a while since a western swing number sounded as organic and celebratory as his duet with Joe Ely on "W. Lee O'Daniel and the Light Crust Dough Boys." On Touchstones, Talley artfully balances the mystical with the concrete, a romantic's sensitivity with a populist's social conscience; the songs' emotional markers pointing us toward something real and everlasting, something that makes better people of us all.

Related collections and offers

Product Details

Release Date: 04/23/2002
Label: Cimarron Records
UPC: 0693249101128
catalogNumber: 1011
Rank: 159570


  1. Tryin' Like the Devil
  2. Sometimes I Think About Suzanne
  3. Calico Gypsy
  4. Bluesman
  5. W. Lee O'Daniel and the Light Crust Doughboys
  6. Not Even When It's Over
  7. Forty Hours
  8. Deep Country Blues
  9. Are They Gonna Make Us Outlaws Again?
  10. Richland, Washington
  11. Nothin' But the Blues
  12. Up from Georgia
  13. To Get Back Home
  14. What Will There Be for the Children?
  15. When the Fiddler Packs His Case
  16. Give My Love to Marie

Album Credits

Customer Reviews