Tough Life

Tough Life

by Junior Kelly


Item is available through our marketplace sellers.


Tough Life

There's nothing like a talented singjay to renew your faith in modern reggae music, and Junior Kelly is made to order in that department. His latest finds him continuing to develop his signature style, a roots-oriented yet sonically modern mix of cultural and lovers elements. The album opens powerfully with the energetically sung title track, and although "Blaze" then indicates an unfortunate flirtation with Bobo Dread "fiyah" rhetoric, he quickly steps back onto more solid ground, admonishing his own brethren on "Rasta Should Be Deeper" and showing off his considerable vocal prowess on "Receive." The album's finest moment comes on a gorgeous combination track, a DJ cut of J.C. Lodge's "Somebody Loves You," here titled "Love You Like That." It's hard to say which is more thrilling about that song -- Kelly's own fully committed performance or Lodge's seemingly ageless voice. "Not I" and the unusually rockish "Youths Dem Nah Cool" are also solid winners, as is the jazzy and funky "Jam for a While." Only the lackluster lovers number "The More I See Her" fails to impress. Highly recommended.

Product Details

Release Date: 09/13/2005
Label: Vp Records
UPC: 0054645170727
catalogNumber: 1707

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Junior Kelly   Primary Artist
Pam Hall   Background Vocals
Donovan Benji Belnavis   Bass
Trevor Skatta Bonnick   Keyboards
Cleveland "Clevie" Browne   Drums
Dalton Browne   Guitar
Glen Browne   Bass,Bass Guitar
Ian Coleman   Guitar
Donald Dennis   Bass Guitar
Lloyd Denton   Keyboards
Sly Dunbar   Drums
Dean Fraser   Saxophone
Wycliffe "Steely" Johnson   Keyboards
Robert Lyn   Keyboards
Leebert Morrison   Guitar
Robbie Shakespeare   Bass,Guitar
Paul Crossdale   Keyboards,Musician
Benjamin Myers   Musician
Stephen Gibson   Drums
Maria Smith   Background Vocals
Strickland Stone   Bass,Guitar
Anthony "Amde" Hamilton   Background Vocals
C. Campbell   Background Vocals
Mitchum Chin   Guitar
Connie Campbell   Background Vocals
Donald "Danny Bassie" Dennis   Bass
Althea Layne Hamilton   Background Vocals
Sean Darson   Drums
Nick Fantastic   Bass,Guitar,Drums,Bass Guitar,Keyboards
Anthony "Bass" Hibbert   Drums,Overdubs
Bernard Raymond   Guitar
David Anglin   Percussion
Omar Clennon   Guitar
Leiba Hibbert   Background Vocals

Technical Credits

Roy Cousins   Producer
Donovan Benji Belnavis   Producer
Trevor Skatta Bonnick   Producer,Engineer
Cleveland "Clevie" Browne   Producer
Bobby Dixon   Engineer
Sly Dunbar   Producer
G.A. Grant   Composer
Wycliffe "Steely" Johnson   Producer
Leebert Morrison   Producer,Engineer
Robbie Shakespeare   Producer
Steely   Engineer
Christopher Chin   Producer,Executive Producer
Cegricia Hamilton   Producer
Steve Harrison   Engineer
L.C. "Good Rockin'" Robinson   Composer
Joel Chin   Producer,Engineer,Executive Producer
Murray Elias   Producer
Dwight Dawes   Producer
Roland McDermott   Engineer
Don Devaney   Composer
Rolando Wilson   Producer
Gregory J. Morris   Engineer
Samuel Jonathan Johnson   Arranger,Producer
D. Dennis   Composer
Kerry DeBruce   Graphic Design,Art Direction
Garfield Hamilton   Producer
Troy McLean   Producer
Arthur Simms   Engineer
R. Wilson   Composer
Anthony Senior   Producer
Boris Silvera   Producer
Carlinton Morrison   Arranger,Producer
C.S. Dodd   Composer
Keith Morgan   Producer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews