Tough Tenors Again 'n' Again

Tough Tenors Again 'n' Again

by Eddie "Lockjaw" Davis & Johnny Griffin Quintet


$23.74 $24.99 Save 5% Current price is $23.74, Original price is $24.99. You Save 5%.
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Get it by Thursday, August 24 , Order now and choose Expedited Delivery during checkout.


Tough Tenors Again 'n' Again

Eddie "Lockjaw" Davis and Johnny Griffin met in a series of "Tough Tenors" small-group record dates in the early '60s, Davis' hard-blowing style blending perfectly with the lighter but no less intense sound of Griffin. This reunion came about not long after Davis guested in the Kenny Clarke & Francy Boland Big Band (in which Griffin was a regular), prompting a small-group record date with the big band's rhythm section (Boland, Clarke, and bassist Jimmy Woode). There is no less fire in this reunion, and Boland's arrangements bring out the best in both tenor saxophonists. The two men likely penned the breezy "Again 'n' Again" on the spot, an engaging riff tune that proves to be a solid opener. The extended loping rendition of Dizzy Gillespie's "Tin Tin Deo" is a particular highlight, especially for the unusual brooding sound of the tenors. Davis' sassy blues "Jim Dawg" is gritty and swinging. There are also individual features for both saxophonists. Griffin's melancholy ballad "When We Were One" is an emotional work, while Davis' robust interpretation of the standard "If I Had You" begins with a powerful unaccompanied introduction, with sublime accompaniment by the rhythm section. This 2012 reissue by Promising Music not only greatly improves the sound but adds updated liner notes by Davis biographer Mike Hennessey.

Product Details

Release Date: 08/07/2012
Label: Promising Music
UPC: 0602537004362
catalogNumber: 22
Rank: 139391

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Eddie "Lockjaw" Davis & Johnny Griffin Quintet   Primary Artist
Francy Boland   Piano
Johnny Griffin   Tenor Saxophone
Jimmy Woode   Bass
Kenny Clarke   Drums
Eddie "Lockjaw" Davis   Tenor Saxophone

Technical Credits

Francy Boland   Arranger
Johnny Griffin   Composer
Eddie "Lockjaw" Davis   Composer
Mike Hennessey   Liner Notes
Wolfgang Hirschmann   Engineer
Heinz Bahr   Layout
Gigi Campi   Producer
Ted Shapiro   Composer
Reginald Connelly   Composer
Jürgen Schwab   Reissue Design
Götz Michael Rieth   Liner Notes
Bob Houston   Original Liner Notes
Consul Bodo Jacoby   Reissue Producer,Reissue Concept
James Campbell   Composer
Walter Kolosky   translation
Chano Pozo Gonzales   Composer
Walter Gilbert Fuller   Composer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews