Tour de Force [Remastered] [Limited Edition]

Tour de Force [Remastered] [Limited Edition]

by .38 Special.38 Special

CD(Remastered / Special Edition)

View All Available Formats & Editions
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


.38 Special is a prime example of an AOR band with deep roots in Southern rock. The band hails from Florida, and vocalist Donnie Van Zant is the brother of none other than Lynyrd Skynyrd's Ronnie and Johnny Van Zant. The group's 1982 album, Special Forces, included the flawless Top Ten rocker "Caught Up in You," which injected the mainstream with a shot of much-needed grit. That album's follow-up, 1983's Tour De Force, upped the ante, showing the band's skills at their peak. Propelled by the effortless blend of melody and power stirred up by Van Zant, vocalist/guitarist Don Barnes, guitarist Jeff Carlisi, bassist Larry Junstrom, and drummers Steve Brookins and Jack Grondin, Tour De Force is loaded with irresistible hooks. The hit single, "If I'd Been the One," is a stunner steeped in passionate vocals and simple but highly effective rhythm and lead guitar parts. "Back Where You Belong," which was also a hit, is more of a straightforward pop
ock song. "I Oughta Let Go" is best described as country-rock -- or, better still, country-funk -- and the fun "Undercover Lover" is a sly, laid-back rocker. But the undiscovered gem here is "Twentieth Century Fox" (no, not the Doors song), a fantastic rocker with great guitar grooves, aggressive vocals, and clever lyrics.

Product Details

Release Date: 06/10/2014
Label: Lmlr
UPC: 3700477821142
catalogNumber: 782114
Rank: 16439

Album Credits

Performance Credits

.38 Special   Primary Artist
Don Barnes   Vocals
Carol Bristow   Background Vocals
Steve Brookins   Drums
Jeff Carlisi   Guitar
Jack Grondin   Drums
Larry Junstrom   Bass
Steve McRay   Keyboards
Lu Moss   Background Vocals
Donnie Van Zant   Vocals

Technical Credits

Troy Seals   Composer
Don Barnes   Composer,Producer
Jeff Carlisi   Composer,Producer
Rodney Mills   Producer,Engineer
Gary O'Connor   Composer
Larry Steele   Composer
Donnie Van Zant   Composer
Mark Spector   Direction
Norman Moore   Art Direction
Chuck Beeson   Art Direction
Steve Prezant   Cover Photo
Harrison Funk   Inlay Photography
Edward F. Sester   Composer
David Samuel Diamond   Composer

Customer Reviews