Town Hall Concerts, Vol. 5

Town Hall Concerts, Vol. 5

by Eddie Condon


$28.42 $31.99 Save 11% Current price is $28.42, Original price is $31.99. You Save 11%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Monday, July 22


This two-CD set, as is true of the other very valuable releases in the Eddie Condon Town Hall series (which had never before been reissued complete and in chronological order), features four well-recorded radio shows that logically showcase the individual members of Condon's remarkable all-star groups. These Dixielandish (but never corny or overly predictable) performances are generally exciting and the verbal commentary of Eddie Condon adds to the flavor and wit of the music. And check out this lineup of musicians: trumpeters Billy Butterfield, Bobby Hackett, Max Kaminsky and Muggsy Spanier, trombonist Miff Mole, baritonist Ernie Caceres, clarinetists Edmond Hall and Pee Wee Russell, pianists James P. Johnson, Jess Stacy and Gene Schroeder, bassists Bob Haggart, Sid Weiss and Jack Lesberg, drummers Cozy Cole, Joe Grauso and Gene Krupa and singers Red McKenzie and Lee Wiley. The spontaneous yet well-planned performances find the classic players in peak form and the results are quite memorable.

Product Details

Release Date: 08/10/1994
Label: Jazzology
UPC: 0762247691020
catalogNumber: 1009
Rank: 140423

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Eddie Condon   Primary Artist,Guitar,Master of Ceremonies
Bobby Hackett   Cornet
James P. Johnson   Piano,Track Performer
Max Kaminsky   Trumpet
Gene Krupa   Drums,Track Performer
Pee Wee Russell   Clarinet
Muggsy Spanier   Cornet,Track Performer
Lee Wiley   Vocals
Billy Butterfield   Trumpet
Cozy Cole   Drums
Bob Haggart   Bass,Human Whistle,Track Performer
Edmond Hall   Clarinet
Miff Mole   Trombone,Track Performer
Red McKenzie   Vocals,Track Performer
Ernie Caceres   Baritone Saxophone,Track Performer
Cole   Track Performer
Jack Lesberg   Drums
Russell   Track Performer
Gene Schroeder   Piano,Track Performer
Jess Stacy   Piano
Weiss   Track Performer
Sid Weiss   Bass
Caceres   Track Performer
Joe Grauso   Drums
Fred Robbins   Announcer
Schroeder   Piano

Technical Credits

Jolson   Composer
Max Kaminsky   Composer
Dick Cary   Composer
Eddie Edwards   Composer
Nick LaRocca   Composer
W.C. Handy   Composer
Jack Pettis   Composer
Boyd Atkins   Composer
Jack Bland   Director
Ernie Caceres   Composer
Buddy DeSylva   Composer
Cliff Friend   Composer
Otto Harbach   Composer
Henry W. Ragas   Composer
Tony Sbarbaro   Composer
Elmer Schoebel   Composer
Larry Shields   Composer
Jess Stacy   Composer
Ernest Anderson   Producer
Billy Meyers   Composer
Chip Deffaa   Liner Notes,Text
George H. Buck   Producer,Liner Notes
William Gottlieb   Photo Courtesy
Dick Charles   Engineer
Don Jarvis   Digital Transfer Assistant
Sidney Clare   Composer
Walter Hirsch   Composer
George Norton   Composer
Lester Santly   Composer
Lewis Gensler   Composer
Maggie Condon   Photo Courtesy
W. Benton Overstreet   Composer
Billy Higgins   Composer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews