×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Toxic Charity: How Churches and Charities Hurt Those They Help (And How to Reverse It)
     

Toxic Charity: How Churches and Charities Hurt Those They Help (And How to Reverse It)

4.5 11
by Robert D. Lupton
 

See All Formats & Editions

Veteran urban activist Robert Lupton reveals the shockingly toxic effects that modern charity has upon the very people meant to benefit from it. Toxic Charity provides proven new models for charitable groups who want to help—not sabotage—those whom they desire to serve. Lupton, the founder of FCS Urban Ministries (Focused Community Strategies) in

Overview

Veteran urban activist Robert Lupton reveals the shockingly toxic effects that modern charity has upon the very people meant to benefit from it. Toxic Charity provides proven new models for charitable groups who want to help—not sabotage—those whom they desire to serve. Lupton, the founder of FCS Urban Ministries (Focused Community Strategies) in Atlanta, the voice of the Urban Perspectives newsletter, and the author of Compassion, Justice and the Christian Life, has been at the forefront of urban ministry activism for forty years. Now, in the vein of Jeffrey Sachs’s The End of Poverty, Richard Stearns’s The Hole in Our Gospel, and Gregory Boyle’s Tattoos on the Heart, his groundbreaking Toxic Charity shows us how to start serving needy and impoverished members of our communities in a way that will lead to lasting, real-world change.

Editorial Reviews

Booklist
“A must-read book for those who give or help others.”
Christianity Today
“Lupton says hard things that need to be said, and he’s earned the right to say them. Believers would do well to receive his words with the mindset that ‘faithful are the wounds of a friend.’”
Washington Post
“[Lupton’s] new book, Toxic Charity, draws on his 40 years’ experience as an urban activist in Atlanta, and he argues that most charitable work is ineffective or actually harmful to those it is supposed to help.”
World Magazine
“Top 10 book of the year.”
Danny Wuerffel
“Lupton’s work, his books and, most importantly, his life continue to guide and encourage me to live and serve in a way that honors God and my neighbor. I highly recommend Toxic Charity.”
John McKnight
“Lupton’s book reminds us that it is more blessed to give than to receive. He shows how the people called poor can be blessed by supporting opportunities for them to give their gifts, skills, knowledge and wisdom to creating the future.”
Roger Sandberg
“In Toxic Charity, Lupton reminds us that being materialistically poor does not mean that there is no capacity, no voice, and no dignity within a person. If we truly love the poor, we will want to educate ourselves on how best to serve. Let our charity be transformative not toxic.”
Ronald W. Nikkel
“A superb book. Toxic Charity should serve as a guide and course correction for anyone involved in charitable endeavors at home or abroad.”
Dr. Joel C. Hunter
“Toxic Charity provides the needed counterbalance to a kind heart: a wise mind. Though I often thought, “Ouch!” while I was reading the book, Robert Lupton gave this pastor what I needed to become a more effective leader.”
Philip Yancey
“When Bob Lupton speaks of the inner city, the rest of us ought to sit up and take notice... [His work is] deeply distrurbing—in the best sense of the word.”
Doctor - Joel C. Hunter
"Toxic Charity provides the needed counterbalance to a kind heart: a wise mind. Though I often thought, "Ouch!" while I was reading the book, Robert Lupton gave this pastor what I needed to become a more effective leader."
From the Publisher
"A must-read book for those who give or help others." ---Booklist

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780062076212
Publisher:
HarperCollins Publishers
Publication date:
10/02/2012
Pages:
208
Sales rank:
230
Product dimensions:
5.38(w) x 7.80(h) x 0.52(d)

What People are Saying About This

Ronald W. Nikkel
“A superb book. Toxic Charity should serve as a guide and course correction for anyone involved in charitable endeavors at home or abroad.”
Roger Sandberg
“In Toxic Charity, Lupton reminds us that being materialistically poor does not mean that there is no capacity, no voice, and no dignity within a person. If we truly love the poor, we will want to educate ourselves on how best to serve. Let our charity be transformative not toxic.”
Danny Wuerffel
“Lupton’s work, his books and, most importantly, his life continue to guide and encourage me to live and serve in a way that honors God and my neighbor. I highly recommend Toxic Charity.”
Philip Yancey
“When Bob Lupton speaks of the inner city, the rest of us ought to sit up and take notice... [His work is] deeply distrurbing—in the best sense of the word.”
John McKnight
“Lupton’s book reminds us that it is more blessed to give than to receive. He shows how the people called poor can be blessed by supporting opportunities for them to give their gifts, skills, knowledge and wisdom to creating the future.”
Joel C. Hunter
“Toxic Charity provides the needed counterbalance to a kind heart: a wise mind. Though I often thought, “Ouch!” while I was reading the book, Robert Lupton gave this pastor what I needed to become a more effective leader.”

Meet the Author

ROBERT D. LUPTON is founder and president of FCS (Focused Community Strategies) Urban Ministries and author of Toxic Charity;  Theirs Is the Kingdom; Return Flight; Renewing the City; Compassion, Justice, and the Christian Life; and the widely circulated “Urban Perspectives” newsletter. He has a Ph.D. in psychology from the University of Georgia.

To learn more, visit www.fcsministries.org.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Toxic Charity 4.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 11 reviews.
SharonDelaware More than 1 year ago
This book gives perspective from the receiver of the time and money of charitable donors. While I have mixed emotions regarding the opinion's expressed regarding the missionary work of the church, it does force one to consider the long-term ramifications of giving to those in need without requiring accountability from them. I particularly like the idea of providing opportunity for those in need to help themselves. Ultimately shouldn't our goal be to eliminate need for charity?
deetm5282 More than 1 year ago
Mr. Lupton tells a very convincing story about what we are doing to the underprivileged. We are taking away their self esteem as well as giving them the reasons to continue in a welfare state. Read the book. IT IS GREAT!!
TNees More than 1 year ago
Lupton has done a good job of identifying the issues and the problems of compassion as charity. He makes some essential points. 1) outputs vs. outcomes. In all relief and development work it's important to distinguish between what is done (outputs) and the intended result (outcomes). 2) delivery of services vs. community development. There will always be a need for emergency assistance in response to disasters. Many churches begin their compassion programs with food and clothing distribution - but don't go beyond relief to community development.
Columbiaandrew More than 1 year ago
A very challenging read - especially to anyone who works in faith-based charities. Lupton asks some provocative questions that for the most part are going unasked. We're planning to use this book as study material in our church to help us find wiser ways of engaging in community service.
Jav_Leach More than 1 year ago
Lupton offers a different system, not just program, to address poverty without continuing the enablement of those who are in need.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I've genuinely been convicted and inspired at the same time.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
He makes you look at charity in a whole new way. Charity needs to do more research and planning to be truly effective. Great book to start discussion and planning. He brings up things I would never have thought of.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
"Toxic Charity" tells of the insights gained by Robert Lupton by living in a poor community and really getting to know his neighbors. He discovered the unintended consequences there are for those who receive charity, and he shares his ideas about what givers can do about it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago