Trace Elements of Random Tea Parties

Trace Elements of Random Tea Parties

by Felicia Luna Lemus

Paperback(Reprint)

$16.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details

Overview

"Buckle up, doll," urges the narrator of Trace Elements, "I promise I’ll try not to tangle your quinceañera dress."
So begins the adventure of Leticia Marisol Estrella Torez, who moves north to Los Angeles in an attempt to break from her past: from starched dresses and sleek, tight braids; from Nana, the traditional grandmother who raised her; and also from the seductive Weeping Woman—the siren of Mexican folklore said to fly through the skies at night to steal troublesome children and who embodies, in many ways, Leti’s first love. As Leti immerses herself in the post-queer hipster scene in Los Angeles, navigating the twisting road of her own shifting gender and falling deep into "papaya lush blush" love, she rediscovers the strength and meaning of la familia. A striking debut novel in the tradition of Michelle Tea and Sarah Schulman, Trace Elements spins a crazy-beautiful narrative that turns tradition on its head while laying flowers at its feet.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781580051262
Publisher: Basic Books
Publication date: 09/09/2004
Series: Live Girls Series
Edition description: Reprint
Pages: 256
Sales rank: 234,184
Product dimensions: 5.00(w) x 0.50(h) x 10.00(d)

About the Author

Felicia Luna Lemus graduated summa cum laude from the University of California, Irvine, and received an M.F.A. from the California Institute of the Arts. She lives in Los Angeles.

Customer Reviews