Tragic (Butch Karp Series #25)

Tragic (Butch Karp Series #25)

by Robert K. Tanenbaum
3.6 14

Hardcover

$24.05 $26.00 Save 7% Current price is $24.05, Original price is $26. You Save 7%.
View All Available Formats & Editions

Temporarily Out of Stock Online

Eligible for FREE SHIPPING

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Tragic 3.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 15 reviews.
Bedros More than 1 year ago
For fans of Robert K. Tanenbaum, Tragic this will satisfy. It may not be as gripping as some of the previous novels in this series but I certainly enjoyed it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I thought this was the best of Tanenbaum's books. Great courtroom drama and plot; also lived the Macbeth echoes terrific read
gloriafeit More than 1 year ago
This book is the newest entry in the Butch Karp/Marlene Ciampi series. Karp is the District Attorney for New York County, ably assisted by Special Assistant D.A. Ray Guma (“the Italian Stallion,” whose significant other is Darla Milquetost, Karp’s receptionist) and Detective Sergeant Clay Fulton of the NYPD. Marlene, his wife and the mother of their twin sons, is the former head of the DA’s sex crime bureau and a defense attorney/p.i., now devoting her most of her time volunteering at a women’s shelter. The plot involves criminality on various levels, from corruption to embezzlement to murder, among the leaders of the New York dockworkers union. When a well-respected and high-ranking member is killed, Marlene investigates on behalf of the girlfriend of one of those picked up for the crime, and Butch takes the lead in the ensuing trials. The novel is replete with wonderful references to Shakespeare’s Macbeth (as well as the film On the Waterfront). The author, himself a former Chief of the Homicide Bureau for the NY DA’s Office, among several other prestigious positions, has written another terrific courtroom drama, with his trademark twists and turns, realistic characters and dialogue. Series fans will love it, and it should find many converts among those not already familiar with the Karp/Ciampi books. Recommendned.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Another 300 page date with Butch and Marlene is always welcome. I have been pre-ordering this series for years. But as most who have waited egarly for each new book know, the series has changed. Tanenbaum changed ghostwriters after #15 with very mixed results. To the good, Tragic is a competent courtroom drama reminiscent of the very early books in the series. Butch is still Butch and ditto Marlene. It has some of the trademark humor of the early volumes and decent complexity. We also benefit from the absence of larger than life,unkillable Muslim terrorists and rejoice in the fact that Tanenbaum's clunky version of american exceptionalism is only found in the acknowledgements. I liked the read. To the not-so-good, I continue to lament the loss of the finest ensemble of characters in this or any genre. At the series' best complex religious and moral themes penetrated and illuminated the legal procedural. The reader got to, with each volume, work out some idea of how Butch and Marlene managed to stay together; contend with violent vigilante solutions to the many failures of our rule-of-law society; and enjoy a huge cast of colorful characters. All of this is gone from this one-dimensional book and other recent volumes. If you are new to this series and find yourself attracted to the main characters, I suggest you return to the very beginning and read the first 15 books in order. If you have read every one so far and will read the next one regardless, we can only hope that Tanenbaum hands this series back to Michael Gruber. In the meantime, read and enjoy Gruber's Jimmy Paz trilogy and then imagine what the next conversation between Lucy Karp and David Grale could reveal about our moral world.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Tanenbaum finally got back to the basics that make his books so enjoyable. For a while he got to deep into the occult, while interesting it became the catalyst, and detracted from the basic story line.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I've read most of the previous books in this series, and I like the characters and the courtroom drama. I like that Karp is back to prosecuting the bad guys. There were too many previous books about terrorists and evil secret societies.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The sympathizer
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Of all the Robert Tanenbaum books I have read, this is my least favorite. It's almost as if it were written by someone else. Part of what makes the Karp series great is the weaving of family events with storyline. None of that here, with the exception of Marlene's participation as an investigator/lawyer. I'm really disappointed in this book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I enjoy Marlene, Lucy, and all the additional characters and missed them tremendously inthis book. Far too little of the extra characters that make these stories enjoyable. Still, worth reading...just not as much fun.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I like to see the entire cast of characters involved in the story.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
pijbm bgpstllj,hpjm , .bhumjopbyupl. o bty