Treasures of the Heart

Treasures of the Heart

by Nestor Torres


$16.21 $18.99 Save 15% Current price is $16.21, Original price is $18.99. You Save 15%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Wednesday, October 16


Nestor Torres' liner notes describe the opening track, "Musing," as "the best of both worlds" (combining his Latin jazz roots with smooth jazz sensibilities), but that tag could apply almost universally. On that song, Torres' flute dances and skips over an easy hip-hop vibe before Latin-flavored synth horns begin rising. The melody cruises on over a feisty mix of that urban flow and David Forestier's heavy percussion, before Torres and keyboardist David Mann do a festive improvisational swirl over the same grooves. On "Luna Latina," Teddy Mulet's bold trombone arrangements forge a Latin big-band playground for Torres and vibist Dave Samuels to trade sassy lines over. "Tropichic" kicks that energy level up another notch, with Torres piping his way over a brisk samba groove and giving way in the middle for a blazing cat-and-mouse improv by pianist Jean Michael and percussionist Richard Bona. Even the more in-the-pocket smooth jazz tunes have a little touch of the exotic Latin flavors. The title track would be a straightforward soul ballad led by flute if not for the peppy flamenco guitar solo by Marc Antoine and Torres' percussive interaction with some gentle soundscaping. And "Velvet Nights," featuring the gentle soprano sax lines of Kim Waters, speeds up just a bit midway through for a mini-jam between Torres and percussionist Edwin Bonilla. Torres even takes a well-worn cover tune like "Ain't No Sunshine" and gives it a jungly, sparsely arranged Brazilian feeling.

Product Details

Release Date: 05/18/1999
Label: Shanachie
UPC: 0016351505521
catalogNumber: 5055
Rank: 54215

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Nestor Torres   Primary Artist,Flute,Bongos,MIDI Percussion
David Mann   Keyboards,Tenor Saxophone
Kim Waters   Soprano Saxophone
Edwin Bonilla   Percussion
Barry Danielian   Trumpet,Flugelhorn
Jonathan Joseph   Drums
Manny López   Guitar
Abel Pabon   Piano,Keyboards
Eduardo Rodriguez   Percussion
David Samuels   Vibes
Satoshi Takeishi   Drums
Marc Antoine   Guitar
Paul Livant   Guitar
Daniel Lopez   Conga,Claves,Guiro
Ray Lyon   Clavinet
David Forestier   Percussion,Guiro
Miriam Cuan   Vocals,Background Vocals
Richard Bona   Bass,Guitar,Percussion
Herman "Teddy" Mulet   Trombone
Jean Michael   Piano

Technical Credits

David Mann   Producer,Engineer,drum programming
Nestor Torres   Producer
Manny López   Arranger
Ned Mann   Engineer,Bass Samples
Abel Pabon   Arranger
Paul Wickliffe   Engineer
Ray Lyon   Engineer
Ann Petter   Art Direction
Richard Bona   Arranger,Producer
Herman "Teddy" Mulet   Trombone Arrangement
Danny Weiss   Executive Producer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews