Tropic Thunder [Original Motion Picture Score]

Tropic Thunder [Original Motion Picture Score]

by Theodore Shapiro


$16.72 $18.99 Save 12% Current price is $16.72, Original price is $18.99. You Save 12%.
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Get it by Thursday, May 24 , Order now and choose Expedited Delivery during checkout.


Tropic Thunder [Original Motion Picture Score]

Tropic Thunder is a Ben Stiller-starring parody of action movies like Rambo, and Theodore Shapiro, whose previous scores include comedies like Not Another Teen Movie and Blades of Glory, clearly was the right composer to provide its music. Trained at Brown and Juilliard, Shapiro knows his film music, past and present, and he provides a tongue-in-cheek master class in stylistic borrowings and bombast to accompany all the faux action. Using an orchestra of 91 (consisting of the kind of players who also play the music he's making fun of), plus electric rock musicians and programmers, he evokes Hollywood heavyweights of the past such as Erich Wolfgang Korngold and Jerry Goldsmith early on, and in the body of his score demonstrates his familiarity with the current A-list of big-budget writers like Hans Zimmer, James Newton Howard, and James Horner as well. Appropriately, there's no subtlety here, just pounding rhythms, soaring melodies, and suspenseful string parts, all executed in short bursts. And at the end, in case there's any doubt about who he has in his sights, the last cue is called "Cue Bill Conti." The score to Tropic Thunder is an affectionate and knowing satire of the history of Hollywood action movie music, penned by an insider.

Product Details

Release Date: 08/05/2008
Label: Lakeshore Records
UPC: 0780163402421
catalogNumber: 34024
Rank: 128913

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Theodore Shapiro   Primary Artist
Bruce Dukov   Violin
Brad Dutz   Drums
Phil Ayling   Oboe
William Booth   Trombone
Jacqueline Brand   Violin
Darius Campo   Violin
Brian Dembow   Viola
George Doering   Guitar
Stephen Erdody   Cello
Alan Estes   Percussion
Pedro Eustache   Woodwind
Michael Fisher   Drums
Julie Gigante   Violin
Endre Granat   Violin
Paula Hochhalter   Cello
Dennis Karmazyn   Cello
Roland Kato   Viola
Brian Kilgore   Drums
Armen Ksadjikian   Cello
Dimitrie Leivici   Violin
Edward Meares   Bass
Bruce Morgenthaler   Bass
Barbara Northcutt   Oboe
Katia Popov   Violin
John "J.R." Robinson   Drums
Anatoly Rosinsky   Violin
Geri Rotella   Flute
Kim Scholes   Cello
David Shostac   Flute
Steve Tavaglione   EWI
Doug Tornquist   Tuba
Cecilia Tsan   Cello
Josefina Vergara   Violin
Miwako Watanabe   Violin
Roger Wilkie   Violin,Concert Master
Ken Yerke   Violin
Sean Hurley   Bass
Peter Limonick   Percussion
Drew Dembowski   Bass
Brian D. O'Connor   Horn
Lisa Sutton   Violin
Natalie Leggett   Violin
Christian Kollgaard   Bass
Rafael Rishik   Violin
Pete Anthony   Conductor
Lisbeth Scott   Vocals
Nico Abondolo   Bass
Shawn Mann   Viola
Darrin McCann   Viola
Antony Cooke   Cello
David Washburn   Trumpet
David Parmeter   Bass
Keith Greene   Viola
Steven Gordon   Viola
Irina Voloshina   Violin
Eun Mee Ahn   Violin
Roberto Cani   Violin
Michael Valerio   Bass
Andrew Schulman   Cello
Oscar Hidalgo   Bass
John "4 Daddman" Robinson   Drums
Sarah Thornblade   Violin
Ralph Williams   Clarinet
Allen Savedoff   Bassoon
David Levita   Guitar
Gregory Goodall   Percussion
Phillip Yao   Horn
Dave Walther   Viola
Marina Manukian   Violin
Alyssa Park   Violin
Andrew Malloy   Trombone
Andrew Duckles   Viola
Donald Foster   Clarinet
Tereza Stanislav   Violin
Malcolm McNab   Trumpet
Serena McKinney   Violin
Mark Adams   Horn
Armen Ksajikian   Cello
Nina Evthuhov   Violin
Warren H. Leuning   Trumpet
Jeanne Evans Skrocki   Violin
Brian D. A. O'Connor   Horn
Thomas Diener   Viola
Steven Schaeffer   Percussion
Alex Iles   Trombone
Kenneth Yerke   Violin
Phillip Teele   Trombone
Victoria Miskolczy   Viola
David Duke   Horn
Dennis Karmazan   Cello
James Thatcher   Horn
Phillip Levy   Violin
Kenneth Munday   Bassoon
Marlow Fisher   Viola
Paul Cohen   Cello
Chris Ermacoff   Cello
Marc Sazer   Violin
Steven Becknell   Horn
Tamara Hatwan   Violin
Jo Ann Turovsky   Harp
Matthew Funes   Viola
Jon Lewis   Trumpet
Heather Clark   Flute
Michael O'Donovan   Bassoon
Sarah Parkins   Violin
Robert Frear   Trumpet
Kevin Connolly   Violin

Technical Credits

George Drakoulias   Producer
Richard Grant   Auricle Programming
Bryan Carrigan   Programming
Chris Fogel   Engineering
Bruce Babcock   Arranger,Orchestration
Pete Anthony   Arranger,Orchestration
Ben Stiller   Producer
Jon Kull   Arranger,Orchestration
Skip Williamson   Executive Soundtrack Producer
John Kull   Orchestration
Randy Spendlove   Music Executive
Theodore Shapiro   Composer,Producer
Brian McNelis   Executive Soundtrack Producer
Jennifer Hawks   Music Executive
Stephanie Mente   Art Direction
Stuart Cornfeld   Executive Soundtrack Producer
Jimmy Honeyman   Arranger,Orchestration
Alessandro Cortini   Programming
Eric McLeod   Executive Soundtrack Producer
Ludwig Goransson   Programming
Jim Honeyman   Orchestration
John Ashton Thomas   Arranger,Orchestration
Eric MacLeod   Executive Soundtrack Producer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews