Trouble Man: Heavy Is the Head

Trouble Man: Heavy Is the Head

by T.I.

Item is available through our marketplace sellers and in stores.


Trouble Man: Heavy Is the Head

Inspired by Marvin Gaye's Trouble Man soundtrack, sampled during the intro, T.I.'s eighth album is almost as pieced together as 2010's No Mercy -- a quality somewhat smoothened by a handful of dramatic street-scene skits. No producer handles more than three tracks, and there's another extensive list of featured artists: Meek Mill, ASAP Rocky, Lil Wayne, Andre 3000, R. Kelly, P!nk, Cee Lo Green, and even Akon, who makes for a poor stand-in for Elton John and spoils one of the album's many meditative tracks. Otherwise, little differentiates this from No Mercy, but a greater portion of the content is memorable and striking. This includes the somber "Sorry" (in which T.I. and Andre 3000 drop verses that necessitate numerous listens to fully absorb), the unruly "Ball" (a whirlwind synthesis of throwback and contemporary sounds), and the energizing "Who Want Some" (something of a slowed down sibling to King's "I'm Talkin' to You" with heavier bottom). This is a step forward from the MC's previous effort, but it's been six years since the he has made an album that must be heard.

Product Details

Release Date: 12/18/2012
Label: Atlantic
UPC: 0075678763120
catalogNumber: 531304

Album Credits

Performance Credits

T.I.   Primary Artist
DJ Toomp   Keyboards
Rico Love   Background Vocals
Earl Hood   Keyboards
Eric Goudy   Keyboards

Technical Credits

Marvin Gaye   Composer
Elton John   Composer
R. Kelly   Composer
Phalon Alexander   Composer
DJ Toomp   Producer,Vocal Engineer
Kenny Gamble   Composer
Leon Huff   Composer
Willie Hutch   Composer
Gene McFadden   Composer
Bernie Taupin   Composer
John Whitehead   Composer
Jazze Pha   Producer
Bill Sienkiewicz   Illustrations
Pharrell Williams   Composer,Producer
Lil C   Producer
André Benjamin   Composer
Aldrin Davis   Composer
Lamar Edwards   Composer,Producer
Paul Tisdale   Composer
Sanchez   Producer
Andrew Coleman   Arranger,Engineer
T.I.P.   Executive Producer
Robert Williams   Composer
James Payne   Composer
Tommy Brown   Producer
Brian Kidd   Composer,Producer
Jason Geter   Executive Producer,Management
Greg Gigendad Burke   Art Direction
Travis Sayles   Composer,Producer
Larrance Dopson   Composer,Producer
Dionnee Harper   Marketing
DJ Montay   Producer,Engineer,drum programming
Rico Love   Composer,Producer
Carolyn Tracey   Package Production
Montay Humphrey "DJ Montay"   Composer
Orville Hall   Composer
Jevon Hill   Composer,Producer
Alecia Moore   Composer
Stacy Barthe   Composer
Graham Marsh   Vocal Engineer
Timothy Thomas   Composer
Theron Thomas   Composer
Jacob Kasher   Composer
E   Producer
Marquinarius Holmes   Composer
Phillip Price   Composer
Dwayne Carter   Composer
Jonz   Additional Production
Clifford Harris   Composer
Cordale Quinn   Composer
Michael Render   Composer
Earl   Producer
Mike Larson   Arranger
T-Minus   Producer,Engineer
Dion Wilson   Composer
Kelly Sheehan   Composer
Korey Roberson   Composer
Thurston McCrea   Engineer
Gee Roberson   Executive Producer
Rock City   Producer
Elliot Carter   Engineer,Vocal Engineer
Earl Hood   Composer,Programming
Eric Goudy   Composer,Programming
Ken Oriole   Engineer
Netta Brielle   Hook
Tristan McClain   Engineer
Futuristiks   Producer
Tyler Williams   Composer
Carl McCormick   Composer
No Id   Producer
Cardiak   Producer
Chinky P   Producer
Nikhil Seetharam   Composer,Producer
John Groover   Composer
James Glaser   Composer
Fredrick Hall   Composer
Rakim Mayers   Composer
Clef   Producer
Aldric Johns   Composer
Po Johns   Producer
Michael Cox   Composer
K Tracks   Producer
Lejuan Kinnemore   Composer
Derel Haynes   Composer
Jamezz Bonn   Additional Production
William Jones   Composer
Thomas Lee Brown   Composer
Elliot Stroud   Engineer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews