×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Trouble with Chickens (J.J. Tully Series)
     

The Trouble with Chickens (J.J. Tully Series)

4.6 55
by Doreen Cronin
 

See All Formats & Editions

From the bestselling, award-winning author-illustrator team of Doreen Cronin and Kevin Cornell comes the first book in a heavily illustrated, hilarious chapter book series about the adventures of a dog detective. Perfect for fans of Sara Pennypacker's Clementine series and Jarrett J. Krosoczka's Lunch Lady series.

J.J. Tully is a former search-and-rescue dog

Overview

From the bestselling, award-winning author-illustrator team of Doreen Cronin and Kevin Cornell comes the first book in a heavily illustrated, hilarious chapter book series about the adventures of a dog detective. Perfect for fans of Sara Pennypacker's Clementine series and Jarrett J. Krosoczka's Lunch Lady series.

J.J. Tully is a former search-and-rescue dog who is trying to enjoy his retirement after years of performing daring missions saving lives. So he's not terribly impressed when two chicks named Dirt and Sugar (who look like popcorn on legs) and their chicken mom show up demanding his help to find their missing siblings. Driven by the promise of a cheeseburger, J.J. begins to track down clues. Is Vince the Funnel hiding something? Are there dark forces at work—or is J.J. not smelling the evidence that's right in front of him?

Editorial Reviews

ALA Booklist
Praise for Doreen Cronin’s DIARY OF A FLY: “Like its predecessors, this diary is a crowd-pleaser.”
Horn Book Magazine
Praise for Doreen Cronin’s DIARY OF A FLY: “Impeccable comedic timing.”
New York Times
Praise for Doreen Cronin’s DIARY OF A FLY: “Teeming with funny vignettes.”
Booklist
“The noirlike detective Tully and the funny chickens running around, well, like chickens make appealing characters, especially as drawn by Cornell, who knows how to get TV cartoon–style humor out of the action.”
Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books
Praise for Doreen Cronin’s DIARY OF A SPIDER: “Hits squarely on the middle-grade funnybone.”
Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books
Praise for Doreen Cronin’s DIARY OF A SPIDER: “Hits squarely on the middle-grade funnybone.”
Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books
Praise for Doreen Cronin’s DIARY OF A SPIDER: “Hits squarely on the middle-grade funnybone.”

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780062069771
Publisher:
HarperCollins Publishers
Publication date:
03/01/2011
Series:
J.J. Tully Series
Sold by:
HARPERCOLLINS
Format:
NOOK Book
Pages:
144
Sales rank:
409,304
Lexile:
570L (what's this?)
File size:
5 MB
Age Range:
7 - 11 Years

Meet the Author

Doreen Cronin is the New York Times bestselling author of Diary of a Worm, Diary of a Spider, and Diary of a Fly, as well as Click, Clack, Moo: Cows That Type, a Caldecott Honor Book, and Giggle, Giggle, Quack. She lives in Brooklyn, New York, with her husband and their daughters.


Kevin Cornell rests his head in Philadelphia, where he and his wife match wits daily with a terrifying dachshund. Other monsters Kevin has recently tamed include The Terrible Two series by Mac Barnett and Jory John, Count the Monkeys by Mac Barnett, and Lulus Mysterious Mission by Judith Viorst.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

The Trouble with Chickens (J.J. Tully Series) 4.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 55 reviews.
GHott More than 1 year ago
I loved this book. It was one of those books that you pick up because you finally have kids and can now read it without explaining why you think it's humorous. I laughed the whole way through the book. The kids 7-14 enjoyed it. The story wasn't one to write about it's a typical kids mystery but the way it was written, well, let me say, if you have a dry sense of humor you'll love it. If you prefer slapstick probably not so much.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I think this book is really good because in the begining its a mystery but at the end it has a BIG twist.And at a certain point of the book its funny.I think the funniest charcters are the baby chickens!I recomend this book for ages 7-12.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Absolutely thouroughly enjoyed this exquisite book though it was very short.
MontzieW 27 days ago
The Trouble With Chickens (J.J. Tully Mystery #1) by Doreen Cronin is such a cute story that even I enjoyed it. It is about a retired search-and-rescue dog that lives on a farm now, chickens that have him on a mission to find lost chicks, and a sneaky inside dog. It is clever, funny, and very witty. I couldn't help but smile several times throughout the book. Well written, fun book for kids. This should be a movie for kids! It would be adorable.
Anonymous 7 months ago
:p hey, Zerif.
Anonymous 7 months ago
Meditated.
smg5775 More than 1 year ago
JJ Tully, a retired search-and-rescue dog, is called on by a mother chicken who wants him to find her missing chicks. He sets out to train her remaining chicks on search and rescue skills but he must become move involved than he wanted to find those chicks as well. I loved this story! JJ talks like a 1940's film noir gumshoe. The villain, Vincent the Funnel (is that not a great nickname?), talks like a 1930's gangster. The story is hilarious. Mama chicken and her chicks are precious. It's not just the chicks that learn. I look forward to more in this series.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Find the i: lllllllllllllllllllIlllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllll
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Ok not the best.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Do not have the book on my nook have it in paper back. Is very good but needs more details and discription. Very cute but needs work. Also a very short read that i think could have been longer.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It was funny how he made up the names of the chickens.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I just love this book! I have 9 year old daughter and she has read this book over 10 times!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
LOVE IT
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I loved it
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Best book ever so good *
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is so cool i love it