×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Trupp: A Fuzzhead Tale
     

Trupp: A Fuzzhead Tale

by Janell Cannon
 

See All Formats & Editions

Trupp is a Fuzzhead, though most humans have never seen or heard of these catlike creatures. That's why Trupp must wear a disguise when he decides to venture out into the world....

Overview

Trupp is a Fuzzhead, though most humans have never seen or heard of these catlike creatures. That's why Trupp must wear a disguise when he decides to venture out into the world....

Editorial Reviews

Publishers Weekly - Cahners\\Publishers_Weekly
Fans of Stellaluna, Cannon's exceptional debut book, will approach her second with high expectations-and those will be met. Carefully crafted prose and stunning art shape a story that delicately spans the fictional and real, at the same time delivering a message worthy of reflection. Curious about what lies beyond his Family Cave, Trupp, a cat-like creature with snow-white fur and ice-blue eyes, walks for days until he approaches 'people-dwellings.' The peace-loving Fuzzhead borrows clothing from a scarecrow so humans won't notice his odd appearance and, accompanied by a raven, heads for a city. No one on the bustling streets pays any attention to Trupp until he meets a homeless woman named Bernice, who removes a piece of broken glass from his foot and takes him to a safer part of town. Equally affecting as her text, Cannon's poignantly detailed acrylic and pencil art underscores the contrasts between Trupp's primitive homeland and the gritty, graffiti-scarred city; and between his ethereal presence and the eccentric, gaudy appearance of Bernice, who keeps half a dozen toothbrushes tucked into her woolen cap. As the new friends settle down to sleep in the park, Bernice's wise words expose the heart of the story: 'Funny, isn't it? I wear all this bright stuff to keep from feeling invisible. When people stare at me, it helps me know I'm here. But Trupp puts on clothes so he will disappear.' Cannon says so much so simply.
Publishers Weekly - Publisher's Weekly
Trupp, a cat-like creature with opposable thumbs, ventures into human territory and befriends a homeless woman. "Carefully crafted prose and stunning art shape a story that delicately spans the fictional and the real," said PW in a starred review of this book by the author of Stellaluna. Ages 4-8. (Apr.)
Carolyn Phelan
From the author of "Stellaluna" (1993) comes the tale of Trupp, a young fuzzhead, a white-furred creature resembling a cat. Determined to see the world, he leaves his family's cave in the cliffs and makes his way to the city. There he befriends Bernice, a homeless woman who understands him, helps him, and sends him on his way home. Young children may be disturbed by the scene in which Bernice and Trupp are attacked by a man who then flees when Trupp reveals himself as a talking animal and threatens the man with his claws. Deft and accomplished, the artwork includes soft-edge acrylic-and-pencil paintings in full color that fill the pages as well as small black-and-white drawings that decorate the text. The story, though, rambles rather aimlessly and mixes fantasy and realism in a vaguely disquieting way. One picture of Trupp wearing clothing and walking along a city street echoes a Garth Williams illustration in Margaret Wise Brown's "Three Little Animals", a more satisfying picture book in which wild things come to the city. Readers who adore Cannon's first book may want to see this one, but "Trupp" is no "Stellaluna".

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780152001308
Publisher:
Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
Publication date:
04/28/1995
Edition description:
First Edition
Pages:
48
Product dimensions:
10.00(w) x 10.00(h) x (d)
Age Range:
4 - 7 Years

Meet the Author

Janell Cannon's picture books have won many awards and are beloved around the world. She is the author and illustrator of Verdi, Crickwing, Pinduli, and the long-time bestselling classic Stellaluna. Born and raised in Minnesota, Ms. Cannon now lives in Southern California.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews