×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Truth about Mr. Darcy
     

Truth about Mr. Darcy

3.4 25
by Susan Adriani
 

See All Formats & Editions

A sexy, compelling Pride & Prejudice " what if"-perfect for fans of Death Comes to Pemberley.

The truth always has consequences......

Mr. Darcy has a dilemma. Should he tell the truth about his old nemesis George Wickham in order to protect the good citizens of Meryton from Wickham's lies and deceits? Doing so will force Darcy to reveal family secrets

Overview

A sexy, compelling Pride & Prejudice " what if"-perfect for fans of Death Comes to Pemberley.

The truth always has consequences......

Mr. Darcy has a dilemma. Should he tell the truth about his old nemesis George Wickham in order to protect the good citizens of Meryton from Wickham's lies and deceits? Doing so will force Darcy to reveal family secrets that he'd prefer never come to light. The alternative is keeping the man's criminal nature to himself and hoping he leaves the area before doing significant harm.

But as Wickham's attentions to Elizabeth increase, Darcy knows if he's to win the one woman he's set his heart on, he's going to have to make one of the most difficult decisions of his life. And what he ultimately does sets in motion a shocking train of events neither he nor Elizabeth could possibly have predicted.

Editorial Reviews

From the Publisher
"For me, The Truth About Mr. Darcy allowed me a whole new perspective, and I found that I thoroughly enjoyed it!" - Royal Reviews

"What makes The Truth About Mr. Darcy so interesting is Adriani's handling of Austen's characters." - Diary of an Eccentric

"Truly remarkable, creative, and brilliantly written, The Trouble With Mr. Darcy is one "what if" variation you will surely not want to miss." - Austen Prose

"...I found The Truth About Mr. Darcy by Susan Adriani to be a splendidly romantic and enjoyable tale." - Austenesque Reviews

"This was one of the best adaptations I've read it quite a long time. I will most definitely pick up any and all adaptations by Susan Adriani." - Books Like Breathing

"I liked the prejudice Elizabeth faces in London and Darcy's ride to her defense ala "Pretty Woman" style." - Love Romance Passion

"Ms. Adriani has humanized the story by adding emotion to the book's almost too cerebral characters." - Historical Hilarity

"Adriani stayed true to Austen's vision, while allowing it to blossom and change for a new audience. " - Debbie's Book Bag

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9781402246135
Publisher:
Sourcebooks
Publication date:
06/01/2011
Pages:
512
Sales rank:
725,713
Product dimensions:
5.70(w) x 7.70(h) x 1.20(d)

Meet the Author

In addition to writing, Susan Adriani is a freelance graphic designer and illustrator. In 2007, after contemplating the unexplored possibilities in Jane Austen's celebrated Pride and Prejudice, she successfully self-published her first story and is currently at work on a second. She lives with her husband and young daughter in southern New England.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

The Truth about Mr. Darcy 3.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 25 reviews.
DarcyLizzy More than 1 year ago
WORST P&P BOOK EVER WRITTEN! This book is so bad, it deserves 0 stars, but 1 was the lowest I could give it. This author obviously knew nothing about the time period or the original characters. Who are these people in this book? Mr. Darcy was so blatantly over-sexed that he either couldn't keep either his hands off of Elizabeth for 5 seconds or his eyes off of her breasts - seriously? I never thought sex could be so boring until I read this book and that was ALL this book was about in every conversation with every character. Darcy forcing Elizabeth, who was NOT even his wife, to turn him on in a public theater until Colonel Fitzwilliam cleared his throat in disgust behind him was too much! Between Darcy being constantly in a state of denial with regard to Elizabeth's reputation, and Elizabeth letting Darcy feel her up before she even wanted him to marry her, was a 20th century morality that had nothing to do with 1813 characters. There's a whole pre-marital sex storyline, but it's so unrealistic. Would Elizabeth really tell other people that she was having sex with Darcy before he had even married her in that time period? This author just didn't get the original characters at all or comprehend the time period in the least. I really felt she had written the book about her own personal life and experiences and put Darcy and Elizabeth's name in there to sell a book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I'm a huge Jane Austen fan and have read probably 10 or so novels based on her characters. This was by far the worst. I'm not a romance novel reader but that's really all this was. Just an excuse for a lot of detailed sex scenes. I'm not a prude or anything but there wasn't any character development or plot to the book, and I was expecting some.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I am an avid Jane Austen variation fan, so I was excited to try a new author. To be honest, I liked the beginning, but about halfway through the book, it just kept dragging and dragging. I think the basic storyline could be good, but it needed to be edited down to about half the size. I finally got to the point I couldn't finish it. Overall, this struck me as a good story for a fanfiction site, but not as a published novel.
ProlificPoeticPen More than 1 year ago
My fiancé and I went to the mall for wedding business, well, we ended up going to BN and hanging out. While he piled on the cook books, I roamed the isles, looking for a book that spoke to me. I am a very picky reader! I saw this and grabbed it instantly. We went and sat down, and I started reading this. I couldn't hear a word my honey was saying I was so absorbed in this. I hated leaving it there!!! I was at chapter 5! Too bad I am broke at the moment. Ah, c'est la vie! The portrayal in this book is not so typical. It's a "What if" scenario. So, we're not talking any ruined Darcy/Lizzy union fantasies you may have. Bleh. No, in this book he's up front about it without insulting her family. I also LOVED the way she portrayed Wickham, riff-raff! She paid close attention to how Elizabeth would act, she was just as witty. Darcy was more open, which deviates from P&P, but this is a "What If" scenario. I was so giddy, I was giggling like a school girl. I love the side of Darcy this Author explored!!! Overall, wonderful job! I am going to buy this book as soon as I have money, and then eat it up like the eager Pemberley beaver I am.
Anonymous 8 months ago
I tried very hard to like this work but as I continued reading on, I grew more infuriated. This was not advertised with a different plot, which threw me off. This was fine, until the original characters' personalities were abandoned. This book masquerades as a view into Mr. Darcy's perspective, but it is basically fanficton.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
While the story has a lot of promise, the execution is poor. Darcy's entire reserved and proper character is completely absent from display as his every move seems to be dictated by lust, anger, love, worry or jealousy. Tedious book. Lizzy is portrayed fairly well, and some interestuing decisions, but the result is not what you'd hope, and often descends to the far fetched and absurd.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is one of my favorite "what-if" scenarios of P&P and definitely one I come back to again and again. One of the errors I found, however, is Daaprcy referring to Elizabeth as Miss Bennett, rather than Miss Elizabeth as was proper for the younger daughter of the family. It wasn't a deal-breaker, but it did lessen some of the feel of authenticity for me. All in all, though. I love it!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Certainly a different twist on Jane Austen's version. I enjoyed the author's perspective. Would definitely recommend it to readers who enjoy Pride and Prejudice sequels.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
As you unfold the lives of Mr. Darcy and Elizabeth Darcy in this novel you cannot help but to get lost in time and feeling that you are there.. lost in Lizzy's new life. I guarantee you will fall in love with this novel!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Loved this take on p&p from mr. Darcy's perspective. More erotic than I had anticipated, but I' ll never look at mr. Darcy in the previous up tight persona again! Enjoy his humanness.