Tsarina

Tsarina

by J. Nelle Patrick

Hardcover

$16.19 $17.99 Save 10% Current price is $16.19, Original price is $17.99. You Save 10%.
View All Available Formats & Editions

Temporarily Out of Stock Online

Eligible for FREE SHIPPING

Overview

Tsarina by J. Nelle Patrick

"Romance, adventure, magic and history blend seamlessly into a story that is... historically sensitive and gloriously thrilling." —Kirkus, starred review

Natalya knows a secret. 

A magical Faberge egg glows within the walls of Russia's Winter Palace.
It holds a power rooted in the land and stolen from the mystics.
A power that promises a life of love for her and Alexei Romanov.
Power, that, in the right hands, can save her way of life.

But it's in the wrong hands.

An epic romance with glittering magical elements, TSARINA is swirling with beautiful prose, stark Russian contrasts, and lavish visuals perfect for fans of Libba Bray's A Great and Terrible Beauty.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781595146939
Publisher: Penguin Young Readers Group
Publication date: 02/27/2014
Pages: 336
Product dimensions: 5.70(w) x 8.40(h) x 1.40(d)
Age Range: 12 Years

About the Author

J. Nelle Patrick lives in Atlanta, Georgia, with a slightly cross-eyed cat and a lot of secondhand furniture. She graduated from the University of Georgia with a degree in English and a minor in philosophy. She auditioned for the circus once but didn’t make it. She is also the author of a series of retold fairytales.

What People are Saying About This

From the Publisher

"A raw and elegant tale of a country on the brink of revolution and a girl who will do anything to save her beloved Russia." —Brenna Yovanoff, NY Times Bestselling author of The Replacement

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Tsarina 4.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 5 reviews.
DahlELama More than 1 year ago
This book was so gorgeous, I imagine the imagery will live in my head for a long, long time. Though obviously factual details were modified for the purposes of creating fiction - and a beautiful romance between the narrator and an implicitly slightly-aged-up Alexei Romanov - it was an interesting look at both sides of the revolution and into the Romanov family.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I TJINK THAT THUS BOOK IS GOING TO BE AMAZING
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Lush and opulent, with intricate descriptions of Saint Petersburg and it's wealthy inhabitants before the fall of Russian society. It's hard to believe that the future of an entire country rests on an egg, but that's how it is.
EverAfterEsther More than 1 year ago
When I was younger and became a voracious reader all on my own, it was historical fiction which captured my attention. One book in particular was Anastasia: The Last Grand Duchess from The Royal Diaries collection. And then I went through a phase where I read every book about Anastasia Romanov that I could get my hands on! I was thrilled when I first heard about Tsarina's upcoming release. As I read it, I was incredibly pleased with the story Jackson Pearce (under the pen name J. Nelle Patrick) created for a fascinating historical character and event. Reasons to Read: 1. Writing with rich details: Jackson's writing in Tsarina is STELLAR. I'm wary of books bogged down in too much detail, but there is a perfect balance here which painted a breathtaking picture in my mind for the setting. The storytelling in Tsarina completely swept me away! 2. The sweetest love story: It was interesting starting the book with the romance already intact - so many stories explore the build up to a relationship, but Natalya and Alexei are already together and looking to the future. This adds such a different perspective from other YA books, plus the love story is kind of the grounding element for this book. This provides Natalya's motivation for most of the book. And yet, it's so difficult watching it all unfold! 3. A magical, historical re-imagining: Historical fiction always takes some artistic liberties with filling in some knowledge gaps or changing certain details - but I hesitate to call Tsarina true historical fiction. It does follow a very important period in Russia's history, however it truly felt to me more like a fanciful re-imagining of this event rather than true historical fiction.  The only thing I didn't love about Tsarina was the ending - it felt like such a stretch to me after reading through the whole book. I just wasn't happy with the closure we were given! Partially because it isn't what I wanted but the rest of the story didn't convince me that this is how the characters would respond to the situation they were put in.  But this is a perfect read for those looking for a swoonworthy, heart-wrenching love story and a little bit of magic in a tragic time. It's a story many of us are familiar with, but with its own unique twist.  ARC received from Penguin Canada for review; no other compensation was received. 
legbone More than 1 year ago
easy reading