by J.T. Montrose



Tenor saxophonist J.R. Montrose is heard here with a quartet featuring underrated bebop pianist Hod O' Brian, Danish bassist Guffy Pallesen, and drummer Jesper Elen. T.T.T. was released on the Storyville label ten years after it was recorded live at Jazzhus Slukefter in Copenhagen, Denmark, on July 2, 1988. Montrose connects with his rhythm section throughout this set and allows his Coltrane tinged tenor to shine (and occasionally squeak) through, especially on Trane's "Central Park West." Along with swinging versions of three standards is the Sonny Rollins classic "Airegin." None of these performances clock in at under ten minutes, allowing sufficient solo time for all the musicians. Recommended for the completist; however, the casual listener should start with the Blue Note reissues.

Product Details

Release Date: 09/14/1999
Label: Storyville Records
UPC: 0717101829125
catalogNumber: 8291

Album Credits

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews