by Twerps


$17.09 $17.99 Save 5% Current price is $17.09, Original price is $17.99. You Save 5%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Get it by Wednesday, July 25 , Order now and choose Expedited Shipping during checkout.



Twerps have the kind of name that's instantly polarizing; actually it's more than polarizing, it's just bad. Which is in itself too bad because a lot of people who might be turned off by the name would dig the music. The quartet hails from Australia but sounds way more New Zealand, with a noisy strum and clatter that's Flying Nun to the core. Think a ragged Bats or a cleaner (early) Clean and you're nearly there. Throw in a bit of Amerindie circa 1988 Homestead Records and you're all the way there. On their self-titled debut album, Twerps make all their antecedents proud by not just copping their sound and style but by writing a bunch of songs that hit hard and stick with you. Between shambling rockers that bump along with a commendable energy ("Dreamin," "This Guy"), waltz-time ballads that lay their emotions bare for all to see ("Don't Be Surprised," "Bring Me Down"), and midtempo tunes that have clouds in their eyes ("Peculiar," "Anything New"), the group hits all the indie pop
oise pop sweet spots and plays with a restrained ferociousness that makes it sound almost effortless. The guitars of Martin Frawley and Julia McFarlane are among the things that make the record work as they clank and clatter in unison or twine around each other in snaky counterpoint, always sounding just right. Frawley's vocals are another selling point; they have an artless charm that provides an easily relatable entry point to the group's sound. McFarlane's occasional harmonies (and her leads on a couple tracks) are equally unpolished but also quite charming. Twerps may not be doing much of anything new here but that's just fine. They make you nostalgic for an era of indie rock that is long gone but also give enough of a classic, energetic, and interesting update to make it sound pretty new at the same time. Now about that name....

Product Details

Release Date: 11/08/2011
Label: Chapter Music
UPC: 9326425805725
catalogNumber: 91
Rank: 215153

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Twerps   Primary Artist,Background Vocals
Ben O'Connor   Background Vocals
Patrick O'Neill   Drums,Group Member
Guy Blackman   Keyboards,Background Vocals
Rick Milovanovic   Bass,Group Member
Joel Carey   Background Vocals
Marty Frawley   Guitar,Vocals,Group Member
Alison Bolger   Background Vocals
Brendan Huntley   Background Vocals
Geoffrey O'Connor   Keyboards
Julia McFarlane   Guitar,Vocals,Group Member
Amy Franz   Background Vocals
Hayley McKee   Background Vocals
Liam Kenny   Background Vocals
Dion Nania   Guitar,Keyboards,Background Vocals
Jonathan Michell   Background Vocals
Scott O'Hara   Background Vocals
Nadia Mizner   Background Vocals
Steph Hughes   Background Vocals
Gill Tucker   Background Vocals

Technical Credits

Lauren Bamford   Cover Photo
Rick Milovanovic   Artwork
Brendan Huntley   Composer
Geoffrey O'Connor   Engineer
Jack Farley   Engineer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews