Typhoid Mary, The Story of Mary Mallon: Educational Version

Typhoid Mary, The Story of Mary Mallon: Educational Version

by Caitlind L. Alexander

NOOK Book(eBook)


Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now
LEND ME® See Details


Ask most adults who Typhoid Mary was, and they'll tell you a lie. They'll tell you she was someone who killed hundreds of people. Maybe even thousands. They'll tell you she was a woman who knew she had a deadly disease and didn't care that she spread it to others. But is it true? No. Most of it is not true. Here is Mary's story.

Read about her early beginnings as a 15-year-old girl who traveled alone from Ireland to New York. There she had to find a job, so she began work as a servant. After several years she worked her way up to being a cook, and people said she was a great cook. Mary had no trouble finding jobs, until the families she worked for started catching typhoid.

Suddenly Mary was arrested and sent to an island. There she was tied to a hospital bed and forced to give samples of her blood, urine and feces for the doctors to test on. She was being used to test all kinds of drugs.

Finally one of the newspapers took her side, along with many people. The Health Department decided that if Mary agreed not to cook for people, they would set her free.

Mary agreed. She got a job working in a laundry, but it was hard work and didn't pay enough. Mary was cold and starving. She also believed she had never had typhoid and that she was simply chosen by the Health Department to run tests on because she was all alone in America. No one would fight for her. So Mary decided to fight for herself. She changed her name and went back to work as a cook.

Find out what happens when typhoid shows up at Mary's new job and the Health Department is called in again!

Educational versions have Common Core Curriculum activities.

Product Details

BN ID: 2940045369985
Publisher: LearningIsland.com
Publication date: 10/03/2013
Sold by: Smashwords
Format: NOOK Book
File size: 194 KB
Age Range: 5 - 13 Years

About the Author

Caitlind Alexander is the author of over 60 books for children, including the Jamie and Kendall Broderick Mystery series, the 14 Fun Facts and 101 Fun Facts series, the Wonderful World of Animals Series, and the Miss Jones series.She lives in California where she loves to visit historic places and learn about new things. She also loves to travel and has been all over the world.

Customer Reviews