Ultramega OK [2017 Reissue]

Ultramega OK [2017 Reissue]

by SoundgardenSoundgarden


$14.73 $15.99 Save 8% Current price is $14.73, Original price is $15.99. You Save 8%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


The best expression of Soundgarden's early, Stooges/MC5-meets-Zeppelin/Sabbath sound, Ultramega OK is a dark, murky, buzzing record that simultaneously subverts and pays tribute to heavy metal. At times, the band and its recasting of over-the-top '70s hard rock seem smirky (Hiro Yamamoto's ridiculous vocal on "Circle of Power"; a "cover" of John Lennon's "One Minute of Silence"); a few, like the cover of "Smokestack Lightning," really do sink into turgid metal silliness. But the best moments are startling fusions of classic metal, punk rock, and psychedelia of the fuzz guitar variety, plus the local flavor of Green River and the Melvins. The difference is, Soundgarden are better songwriters, and their feel for memorable riffs and hooks lend greater power to both the rockers and the creepy, dirge-like slow numbers. It's a shame the album as a whole isn't more fully realized, because when separated out from the filler, the numerous highlights show why Soundgarden had such an enormous impact on the development of grunge. It may not be quite as complex or consistent as some of Soundgarden's later albums, but Ultramega OK is easily the best document of grunge's early, pre-Nirvana days.

Product Details

Release Date: 03/10/2017
Label: Sub Pop
UPC: 0098787117226
catalogNumber: 71172
Rank: 8599

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Soundgarden   Primary Artist
Matt Cameron   Drums,Group Member
Chris Cornell   Vocals,Group Member
Kim Thayil   Guitar,Group Member
Hiro Yamamoto   Bass,Group Member

Technical Credits

John Lennon   Composer
Soundgarden   Producer
Jack Endino   Engineer,Remixing
Matt Cameron   Composer
Drew Canulette   Producer
Chris Cornell   Composer
Chris Hanzsek   Engineer
Kim Thayil   Composer
Hiro Yamamoto   Composer
Lance Mercer   Sleeve Photo
Sydney Taylor   Sleeve Photo
Chester Burnett   Composer
Josh Graham   Art Direction

Customer Reviews