Undaunted A Memoir

Undaunted A Memoir

by Van B. Choat


$22.46 $24.95 Save 10% Current price is $22.46, Original price is $24.95. You Save 10%.
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Want it by Wednesday, September 26  Order now and choose Expedited Shipping during checkout.
    Same Day shipping in Manhattan. 
    See Details


Undaunted A Memoir by Van B. Choat

Undaunted is a harrowing story of unimaginable loss, horrible abuse, and unspeakable tragedy. For a young orphaned Vietnamese girl, living in a war torn country, growing up is the hardest journey. She flees an army of demons, ghostly soldiers, false friends, conniving and dangerous relatives, callous bureaucrats, and a complex, endless war that ensnared a whole nation. She struggles to endure a life of impossible circumstances and situations, until help comes through from a miraculous spiritual intervention. "Life makes orphans of us all. Some of us get a head start. I should begin this story when I was born, but I don't know exactly when that was and those who could tell me are long gone, as is the world we once shared. It probably doesn't matter. Ours is an old story begun afresh each day in war zones around the world. Orphans are one big family that seldom gets to meet. We know only those who hold our hands and we have only two of those. This book is about the two kinds of 'sisters' who held mine. "The first are the little girls, strong women, weak women, kind or cruel women, and old ladies who, being real or spiritual sisters, guided me from ignorance and despair to some kind of peace and understanding in my life. The second are the angels who watch over us from eons before our birth to what, sooner or later, will become the end of time." Van B. Choat was born Nguyen Thi Hien in the village of Rach Gia, southwest of Saigon. Orphaned at age four in a bloody Viet Cong massacre in 1964, Van begins a heart-breaking odyssey that takes her from the loving care of her stoic grandmother to foster homes where relatives both nurture and abuse her. Surviving the Tet Offensive, teenager Van later escapes to the U.S. with her adoptive family on the eve of Saigon's fall in 1975. She faces poverty, brutality, and discrimination in an alien land-compounded by the untimely death of her young husband and high-school sweetheart, a U.S. soldier who gives her two sons and a new mission in life. For more information, visit her website: VanChoat.com

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781941049358
Publisher: Joshua Tree Publishing
Publication date: 03/25/2016
Pages: 246
Product dimensions: 6.00(w) x 9.00(h) x 0.56(d)

Table of Contents

Table of Contents

Map of Vietnam

Family Tree of Van B. Choat


Prologue: Out of the North— What Was Ours, Once Upon a Time

The Road—1964

Fork in the Road—1964

Leaf House—1965

Stucco House—1967


Flotsam and Jetsam—1968

Chasing the Moon—1968

Into the Dragon’s Den—1969

Fish Farm—1971

Mouth of the Dragon—1974

Escaping the Dragon—1975

Home of the Brave—1975

Over the Rainbow—1979–1987

Epilogue: A Sense of Purpose


About the Author

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Undaunted A Memoir 5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 1 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I thoroughly enjoyed this haunting and courageous story of survival against all odds, as told in this well written, descriptive, colorful, and even humorous narrative by Van Choat. A child-orphan, she recounts the War as experienced by a child and through a child's eyes...deprivation, hunger, abuse, the fire fight that took her parents' lives, the TET Offensive outside her door in Saigon, and escape as a young teenager only days before Saigon fell, and where even in her new American homeland, heartbreaking tragedy followed her. But so did her courage and determination. It is also a story of her Grandmother Mau, who was a wealthy Northern Matron, and a peasant refugee in the South, Her uncomplaining stoic nature, unyielding determination and love saved Van and her siblings from life on the streets, in an orphanage, or worse. There are two kinds of people that MUST read this book: First, those who need to find their faith and courage anew (young women in particular, I think), in the face of challenges that may seem insurmountable. In this book they will find inspiration and hope and then, determination. Second, those who whine about their lives. Maybe they will stop. This small but intense volume, the people you will meet, the stores that are told, even the history you will learn, will stay with you for a very long time. Buy it, enjoy at your Winter's fireside, and count your own blessing