Under a Pole Star

Under a Pole Star

by Stef Penney

Hardcover

$24.29 $26.99 Save 10% Current price is $24.29, Original price is $26.99. You Save 10%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Get it by Friday, September 21 , Order now and choose Expedited Shipping during checkout.
    Same Day shipping in Manhattan. 
    See Details

Overview

Under a Pole Star by Stef Penney

Sometimes you have to travel to the farthest edge of the world in order to find your true place in it...


A panoramic historical epic and an unforgettable love story from the author of The Tenderness of Wolves, for fans of Kristin Hannah, Sarah Perry, and Barbara Kingsolver

A whaler's daughter, Flora Mackie first crossed the Arctic Circle at the age of twelve. Years later, in 1892, determination and chance lead her back to northern Greenland as a scientist at the head of a British expedition, defying the expectations of those who believe a woman has no place in that harsh world.

Geologist Jakob de Beyn was raised in Manhattan. Yearning for wider horizons, he joins a rival expedition. Jakob and Flora's paths cross. It is a fateful meeting, where passion and ambition collide and an irresistible attraction is born.

The violent extremes of the north obsess them both: perpetual night and endless day; frozen seas and coastal meadows, and the strange, maddening pull it exerts on the people trying to make their mark on its vast expanses - a pursuit of glory whose outcome will reverberate for years to come.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781681441177
Publisher: Quercus
Publication date: 09/05/2017
Pages: 608
Sales rank: 416,109
Product dimensions: 6.00(w) x 9.10(h) x 2.00(d)

About the Author

Stef Penney is a screenwriter and the author of three acclaimed novels: The Tenderness of Wolves, The Invisible Ones, and Under a Pole Star. The Tenderness of Wolves won the Costa Prize for Book of the Year, Theakston's Crime Novel of the Year, and was translated into thirty languages. She grew up in Edinburgh.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Under a Pole Star 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 1 reviews.
Anonymous 7 months ago
I loved all the information about the people and exploration.