Undersea Poem

Undersea Poem

by Undersea Poem


Item is available through our marketplace sellers.


Undersea Poem

Plenty of people -- eight of them -- contribute to this debut by the duo of Christ Root and Juju Stulbach, who've taken the name Undersea Poem. Yet it still manages to feel quite stripped down, as if the pair were largely performing alone. They set the tone for the disc with "Juju's Theme," a sweet little piece for guitar and wordless vocals that's redolent, not so much of the Brazilian-style music that characterized their work in Mosquitos, but a more generic, but equally warm, Latin sound. It's music full of sunshine, low-key but happy. However, the problem is that it feels more like a sketchbook than a finished CD. There are ideas, but they're not fully developed -- six of the 17 tracks here clock in at under two minutes, while another seven run between two and three minutes. In itself, that's not a bad thing, since there's nothing wrong with brevity, but somehow it never quite feels satisfying, as if they'd been happy to work with what they had, rather than push it. In this past this duo has proved they can write good songs, but there's an incompleteness about this. It has its moments, as on "Menina Que Corre," but they're few and far between.

Product Details

Release Date: 02/09/2010
Label: Six Degrees
UPC: 0657036115927
catalogNumber: 1159

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Undersea Poem   Primary Artist
Chuck Treece   Bass
Michael Leonhart   Trumpet,Cornet,Flugelhorn,Mellophonium
Scott Hollingsworth   Bass,Guitar,Keyboards
Claudia Chopek   Violin
Juju Stulbach   Tambourine,Vocals,Group Member
Chris Root   Bass,Guitar,Bongos,Conga,Drums,Vocals,Group Member
Jeff Hill   Upright Bass
Andre Netto   Guitar
Mike Nolan   Pedal Steel Guitar
Joana Bergman   Harmonica

Technical Credits

Michael Leonhart   Horn Arrangements
Scott Hollingsworth   Composer,Producer,Engineer
Melissa Lefton   Inspiration
Ken Anderson   Legal Advisor
Juju Stulbach   Composer
Chris Root   Composer,Producer
Gwen Terpstra   Artwork
José Roberto Aguilar   Cover Art
Jon Marshell Smith   Composer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews