by Joan Hawkins


by Joan Hawkins

Paperback(3rd ed.)

    Qualifies for Free Shipping
    Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Monday, December 11
    Check Availability at Nearby Stores

Related collections and offers


Kate Stevens loves her husband, Harry, and their baby daughter, Cam. But a girl called Valery St. John exists within Kate, an alter-ego of verve and daring that has long yearned for adventure, lust and love - in male terms. It takes a chance encounter with a beautiful, charismatic artist named Margo, to bring Valery, and the alternative lifestyle she represents, to the fore. Kate's ensuing affair with the lesbian painter prompts a personal transformation, and proves a crucible for the relationship between herself and Harry. When Joan Hawkins' debut novel was first published by GP Putnam in 1974, it was ahead of its time. Set in the turbulent days of the late 1960s, it explores a young woman's journey of discovery as she finds herself at a personal crossroads in a period of massive social and cultural change. Themes of sexual exploration, gender identity, feminism and rebellion blend with a satirical take on the crumbling old order. The gray suits of tradition are being challenged by student protests, racial integration and the emergence of women in the workplace. Re-published in 2014 on its 40th anniversary, and with a new third edition now available in 2022, Underwater still bristles with passion, humour and quirky defiance.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781916297562
Publisher: 451editions
Publication date: 10/25/2022
Edition description: 3rd ed.
Pages: 262
Product dimensions: 5.50(w) x 8.50(h) x 0.59(d)

About the Author

Joan Hawkins was born in Cambridge, Massachusetts. She attended Bennington College and New York University. She lived most of her life in Manhattan, where she practised psychotherapy. Her debut novel, Underwater, was published by GP Putnam in 1974. The book was critically acclaimed, challenging traditional gender roles and exploring controversial issues of the day. The second edition of Underwater was published on its fortieth anniversary by Landon Books in 2014. The author's second novel, Bailey (2012), explores themes of addiction and childhood trauma. Trespass (2013), is a fascinating portrait of a moribund, spirited woman living joyously to the end. Her fourth work, Rematch (2021), set in the early eighties, is a prescient take on corporate sexual discrimination. Joan's fifth title, the political drama Family Money, was published in 2022 by 451 Editions along with this 3rd edition of Underwater. For more, see: http://www.JoanHawkins.net
From the B&N Reads Blog

Customer Reviews