The Undiscovered Paul Robeson: Quest for Freedom, 1939 - 1976

The Undiscovered Paul Robeson: Quest for Freedom, 1939 - 1976

by Paul Robeson Jr.


View All Available Formats & Editions
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Want it by Friday, September 28?   Order by 12:00 PM Eastern and choose Expedited Shipping at checkout.
    Same Day shipping in Manhattan. 
    See Details


The Undiscovered Paul Robeson: Quest for Freedom, 1939 - 1976 by Paul Robeson Jr.

The eagerly awaited second volume of Paul Robeson Jr.'s acclaimed biography of his father, the legendary singer, actor, and social activist.

The greatest scholar-athlete-performing artist in U.S. history, Paul Robeson was one of the most compelling figures of the twentieth century. In this final volume of his groundbreaking biography, Paul Robeson Jr. tells the untold, inside story of his father's life from World War II until his death, including his fight against racism and injustice and his courageous defiance of persecution by government agencies.

  • Breaks new ground, using unpublished photographs and source materials from private diaries, letters, and government documents
  • Offers unprecedented insight into how Robeson bridged the contradictions of his personal and public life
  • Praised as "an accomplished and moving memoir" ( Boston Globe , on Vol. 1) and "an important, well-wrought addition to African-American, Cold War and theater scholarship" ( Publishers Weekly )

Revealing a multifaceted figure who moved among major roles as a performer, political activist, husband, and father, The Undiscovered Paul Robeson traces the dramatic arc of one of the world's most distinguished performing artists and passionate leaders in the fight for universal human rights.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781684422739
Publisher: Turner Publishing Company
Publication date: 01/01/2010
Pages: 434
Sales rank: 821,392
Product dimensions: 6.10(w) x 9.10(h) x 1.20(d)

About the Author

Paul Robeson Jr. is a freelance journalist, translator, and highly regarded lecturer on American and Russian history. He served as a personal aide to his father for more than twenty years and has been a civil rights activist since the 1940s. He is the owner and archivist of the Paul Robeson and Eslanda Robeson Collections, which consist of over 50,000 items, including thousands of photographs and hundreds of audio recordings. He lives in Jersey City, New Jersey.

Table of Contents

Preface: "I Am Looking for Freedom".


I. "America's Number One Negro" (1939–1945).

1. The Calling (1939–1940).

2. The Quest (1941).

3. Hero and Enemy (1942–1943).

4. The Robeson Othello (1943–1945).

II. Against the Tide (1945–1949).

5. Challenging the Mighty (1945–1946).

6. Storm Warnings (1946–1948).

7. Into the Eye of the Storm (1949).

8. Peekskill, New York (1949).

III. Paying the Price (1950–1958).

9. Struggle for Survival (1950–1954).

10. Victory over Despair (1955–1956).

11. Rising from the Ashes (1957–1958).

IV. Journey to Jerusalem (1958–1976).

12. A Hero's Welcome (1958–1960).

13. CIA Ambush? (1961–1963).

14. A Temporary Reprieve (1963–1965).

15. "No Cross; No Crown" (1965–1976).



Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews