Free Shipping on Orders of $40 or More
Unfollow Your Passion: How to Create a Life that Matters to You

Unfollow Your Passion: How to Create a Life that Matters to You

by Terri Trespicio
Unfollow Your Passion: How to Create a Life that Matters to You

Unfollow Your Passion: How to Create a Life that Matters to You

by Terri Trespicio

Hardcover

$27.00
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Wednesday, October 5

Overview

Named a Best Feel-Good Book of 2021 by The Washington Post

A hilarious and honest not-quite-self-help book in the vein of Buy Yourself the F*cking Lilies and I Used to Have a Plan.

Every person on the planet wants their life to mean something. The problem is that you’ve been told there’s only one way to find that meaning.

In Unfollow Your Passion, Terri Trespicio—whose TEDx talk has more than six million views—questions everything you think you need: passion (fun, but fleeting), plans (flimsy at best), and a bucket list (eye roll), to name a few.

Instead, she shows you how (and why) to flip society, culture, and the #patriarchy the bird so you can live life on your terms. Trespicio effortlessly guides you through her method of unhooking yourself from other people’s agendas, boning up on the skills to move you forward, and exploring your own creativity, memory, and intuition to unlock your unique path to meaning—while also confronting the challenges that stop you in your tracks, like boredom, loss, and fear.

Trespicio delivers a personal growth book unlike any other with insights that are “wildly funny and infinitely compelling,” (Farnoosh Torabi, host of the So Money podcast). Fans of Glennon Doyle’s Untamed and Luvvie Ajayi Jones’s Professional Troublemaker will love this fresh and fearless take on what it means to unfollow the rules you were given.


Related collections and offers

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781982169244
Publisher: Atria Books
Publication date: 12/21/2021
Pages: 288
Sales rank: 269,519
Product dimensions: 5.70(w) x 8.30(h) x 1.20(d)

About the Author

Terri Trespicio is an award-winning writer, in-demand speaker, and brand advisor whose TEDx talk, “Stop Searching for Your Passion,” has been viewed more than six million times. She earned her MFA in creative writing from Emerson College and won first place in the Baltimore Review’s 2016 literary contest. Her writing has also been featured in Marie Claire, Jezebel, Business Insider, and others. Visit TerriTrespicio.com for more information.

Table of Contents

Introduction 1

Part 1 Unsubscribe

Chapter 1 How to Unsubscribe from Other People's Agendas 11

Chapter 2 Why You Can Stay in Your Comfort Zone 22

Chapter 3 Unfollow Your Passion 32

Chapter 4 Dump Your Bucket List and Figure Out What (Actually) Matters 41

Chapter 5 Why You Probably Overpacked for This Trip 57

Chapter 6 It's Not a Sin to Get Wickedly Curious 67

Part 2 Uncover

Chapter 7 You've Got Mad Skills 79

Chapter 8 Practice Makes Purpose 94

Chapter 9 No One Was Given a Script 107

Chapter 10 Why You Didn't Miss Your Calling 123

Chapter 11 Making a Living vs. Living Your Life 136

Chapter 12 How to Stand Out When Everyone's Peddling the Same Shit 146

Chapter 13 Never Rely on Anyone Again 164

Part 3 Unleash

Chapter 14 Abandon Your Plans 181

Chapter 15 Boredom Is a Detox for Your Soul 194

Chapter 16 Questioning Commitments Doesn't Make You Noncommittal 204

Chapter 17 Tell Your Critic to STFU So You Can Get Some Work Done 216

Chapter 18 Stop Fixing What Isn't Broken 228

Chapter 19 Why It's Not Worth Obsessing Over Forever 240

Chapter 20 Set Yourself Free 249

Acknowledgments 263

Notes 265

Index 270

Customer Reviews

Explore More Items