In the late 1830s, prominent local settlers Peter J. Harvey, John Taylor, Col. Matthew Wood, Philip Feazle, Daniel Payne, Stephen Colvin, and Mills Farmer of upper Ouachita Parish Wiley Underwood petitioned the Louisiana Legislature for the creation of a new parish. Created by the legislature on May 13, 1839, it was given the name Union, supposedly because Daniel Webster stated, "Liberty and union, now and forever, one and inseparable." By the 1850s, settlers streamed into the parish from Georgia, Alabama, Mississippi, and Tennessee. Most came by steamboat, landing at a point on the Ouachita River, which became known as the Alabama Landing since many Alabamians arrived there. Agriculture always dominated the Union Parish economy, evolving from cotton and corn in the 1840s to the 1950s to cattle, timber, and poultry today.
About the Author
W. Gene Barron is a longtime resident of Union Parish who has a passion for genealogy. He has selected the best available images to relate the history of Union Parish, relying on the cherished senior citizens of the parish to share their past. It is his hope and desire that Images of America: Union Parish will preserve the parish's rich heritage and history.
Table of Contents
1 Farmerville and Central Union Parish 9
2 Bernice and Southwestern Union Parish 35
3 Marion and Eastern Union Parish 59
4 Spearsville and Northwestern Union Parish 83
5 Downsville and Southern Union Parish 107