Unless She Beckons: poems by Dafydd ap Gwilym

Unless She Beckons: poems by Dafydd ap Gwilym


Use Standard Shipping. For guaranteed delivery by December 24, use Express or Expedited Shipping.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780997154993
Publisher: redbat books
Publication date: 03/20/2018
Pages: 104
Sales rank: 917,803
Product dimensions: 6.00(w) x 1.25(h) x 9.00(d)

About the Author

Dafydd ap Gwilym was the greatest poet of medieval Wales. A brilliant and canny poet of love, Dafydd explores the intensity of erotic desire: its deep seriousness as well as its deep comedy. Born in Cardiganshire around 1320, he was trained in the Welsh bardic tradition and traveled widely throughout Wales. Although distant in time and circumstance, Dafydd's work confronts us with a virtuosic strangeness, a directness, and a sense of lived realness. In his poems, he lingers outside a village, loiters in the woods waiting for a tryst that never happens, peers through a window, stumbles in the dark. Despite the centuries and the technological gulfs that separate us, Dafydd's world is also our world, and his poems, like the best of all poetry, surprisingly modern. With a voice coy, confident, and continually alluring, his poetry beckons and endures.

Paul Merchant was born in Wales and taught for many years at Warwick University. Since 1988 he has lived in Oregon, where he was Director of the William Stafford Archives in Watzek Library at Lewis & Clark College.

Michael Faletra is Professor of English and Humanities at Reed College in Portland, where he specializes in the literatures of medieval Britain.

Table of Contents

Introduction 7

Translating Dafydd 14

A Note on the Cover Painting 16

Y Cloc 18

The Clock 19

Merched Llanbadarn 24

The Girls of Llanbadarn 25

Ei Gysgod 28

His Shadow 29

Y Breuddwyd 32

The Dream 33

Y Rhugl Groen 36

The Rattle Bag 37

Yr Wylan 42

Seagull 43

Offeren y Llwyn 44

Forest Communion 45

Y Ffenestr 48

The Window 49

Y Niwl 52

The Mist 53

Cusan 56

A Kiss 57

Trydydd Cywydd Ymryson Dafydd ap Gwilym 60

Dafydd’s Third Assault on Griffith Gryg 61

Trafferth mewn Tafarn 64

Tavern Trouble 65

Yr Adfail 68

The Ruin 69

Y Seren 72

The Star 73

Breichiau Morfudd 76

Morfudd’s Arms 77

Y Llwynog 80

The Fox 81

Cyngor y Bioden 84

The Magpie’s Message 85

Y Drych 90

The Mirror 91

Cystudd Cariad 96

Love’s Affliction 97

About the Poet 99

About the Translators 101

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews