Up From the Sea

Up From the Sea

by Leza Lowitz

Hardcover

$17.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Wednesday, May 29

Overview

A powerful novel-in-verse about how one teen boy survives the March 2011 tsunami that devastates his coastal Japanese village.
 
“Successfully captures the raw emotions of loss, grief, and what it means to move forward.” —BuzzFeed
 
On the day the tsunami strikes, Kai loses nearly everyone and everything he cares about. But a trip to New York to meet kids whose lives were changed by 9/11 gives him new hope and the chance to look for his estranged American father. Visiting Ground Zero on its tenth anniversary, Kai learns that the only way to make something good come out of disaster is to return and rebuild.
 
Heartrending yet hopeful, Up from the Sea is a story about loss, survival, and starting anew. 
 
Fans of Jewell Parker Rhodes’s Ninth Ward and Karen Hesse’s Out of the Dust will embrace this moving story. An author’s note includes numerous sources detailing actual events portrayed in the story.

A BOOKRIOT 100 MUST-READ YA BOOKS WRITTEN IN VERSE
A NEW YORK PUBLIC LIBRARY BEST BOOK FOR TEENS, 2016

Up From the Sea touched me deeply with its beautiful message of hope and the resilience of humanity. Bravo.” —Ellen Oh, author of the Prophecy series
 
“It is a moving story of the rebirth of hope in a teen who has lost almost everything. . . . Kai will resonate with teens on a simple human level, just as 3/11 resonates with 9/11.” —VOYA

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780553534740
Publisher: Random House Children's Books
Publication date: 01/12/2016
Pages: 272
Sales rank: 1,349,797
Product dimensions: 5.60(w) x 8.30(h) x 1.10(d)
Lexile: 750L (what's this?)
Age Range: 12 - 17 Years

About the Author

Leza Lowitz’s writing has appeared in the New York Times, Huffington Post, Shambhala Sun, Asian Jewish Life, and Best Buddhist Writing of 2011. She has published over seventeen books, including the APALA Award–winning YA novel Jet Black and the Ninja Wind, which she co-wrote with her husband, the bestselling Yoga Poems: Lines to Unfold By, and her most recent Here Comes the Sun: A Journey to Adoption in 8 Chakras. Leza, an American, lives in Japan with her husband, Shogo Oketani. You can visit her online at lezalowitz.com.


From the Hardcover edition.

Read an Excerpt

Adrift
(Continues…)



Excerpted from "Up From the Sea"
by .
Copyright © 2017 Leza Lowitz.
Excerpted by permission of Random House Children's Books.
All rights reserved. No part of this excerpt may be reproduced or reprinted without permission in writing from the publisher.
Excerpts are provided by Dial-A-Book Inc. solely for the personal use of visitors to this web site.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Up From the Sea 4.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 3 reviews.
nhr3bookcrazyNR More than 1 year ago
Truly impressive and different. Written in poetry form, it is a very quick read - with a very heavy topics. Amazingly made it "easy" to ready about such heavy subjects.
ericalyn9 More than 1 year ago
I was really excited to get this book for review…especially due to the fact that I absolutely adore books that are in verse. Ellen Hopkins’ books were the ones that got me into reading verse and made me absolutely love everything that books in verse have to offer. They are so lyrical and I just connect so much with them. They make me happy and smile…and this book did not let me down. It completely delivered and I was intrigued the whole entire time. Kai is such a wonderful character and you see the struggles he goes with and you can feel his pain. He has his troubles, but he is so strong. I just enjoyed his character so much and the growth he has within this story is absolutely incredible. It made me feel so many things…happiness, sadness, and both at the same time. I cried and just felt amazing while reading this story. It is so touching. You not only see how the tsunami effects Kai, but you get to see into his life before the disaster. You get to see how he was before he lost everything. What I loved about this is the fact his life wasn’t perfect before. I was so happy the author didn’t make it seem like his life was perfect, then disaster struck and it all went to hell. He has been through things without his life and he has prevailed before. It was just nice to get a background story that wasn’t all butterflies and rainbows. If you want to read a story that is so touching, that makes you happy and sad at the same time, but all in all just puts a smile on your face…pick up this book. It is a super quick read and just gives you motivation to get up and do something!
Reading_With_Cupcakes More than 1 year ago
Up From the Sea is about two very difficult topics from the worlds history. The first and the main one being the tsunami that hit Japan after a 9.0 earthquake struck. The second being 9/11 as it pertained to the Americans. Neither of these two topics is something easy to discuss, but Leza Lowitz does it beautifully. Up From the Sea is not written in the traditional sense. It is actually written in the form of poetry. If you are new to this idea, you may be a bit hesitant and find yourself wondering if a story could really be told this way. The answer is quite simply and very strongly a yes! The world is drawn very vividly and the characters are easy to relate to. It is very well done. Up From the Sea follows along our main character, Kai. It starts the day of the tsunami, and ended approx a year or so after that fateful day. You feel his emotions, the emotions of those around him, and and you learn a lot of about what it was like in coastal Japan at that time. You also get to learn a little bit about Japanese culture and some Japanese language - which was a nice touch. If you are looking for a fantastic read that deals with some real life issues, Up From the Sea will not disappoint you. I will warn you though. Once you start reading, you won't be able to put it down. You will be finished within a day of starting it! My Rating 4.5 Stars This review is based on a copy provided by the publisher in exchange for a fair and honest review. Find more of my reviews here: http://readingwithcupcakes.blogspot.com/