Upfront Trance

Upfront Trance

by Matt Darey


Item is available through our marketplace sellers.


Upfront Trance

It isn't hard to figure out how trance got its name. Trance is a very hypnotic form of electronica; while techno confronts (it is the death metal or free jazz of electronica), trance is a style that -- for all its exuberance -- would rather hypnotize and seduce. And hypnotic seduction is exactly what producer/DJ Matt Darey goes for on Upfront Trance, a two-CD set that he has described as "the first album I have ever made that is a true reflection of how I play in the clubs with no compromises." A club-like ambience definitely prevails on Upfront Trance, which finds Darey spinning 158 minutes' worth of music and turning his attention to material by Perry O'Neil, Blank & Jones, Ratty, Tilt, and Oliver Prime (among others), as well as some of his own material. Actually, much of Upfront Trance might be too uncompromising for those who have only a casual interest in trance. Some nonstop trance mixes will emphasize the pop side of trance in order to be more accessible to casual listeners, and while some of the songs on Upfront Trance feature female singers and have a traditional song structure (including Smith & Pledger's "Forever" and White Room and Amy Cooper's "Someday"), many of the selections that Darey includes in his nonstop mix are instrumentals that don't have a traditional song structure -- they're strictly about the beat and the electronic rush that goes with it. That approach won't make Upfront Trance a favorite among those who believe that all trance should be as pop-minded as DJ Sammy and Yanou's remake of Bryan Adams' "Heaven," but for those who appreciate different sides of trance -- the pop crossover side as well as the more hardcore side -- Upfront Trance is an enjoyable demonstration of the types of things that Darey can do in a club setting.

Product Details

Release Date: 05/17/2005
Label: Water Music Records
UPC: 0030206055122
catalogNumber: 060551

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Matt Darey   Primary Artist,Vocals
Marcella Woods   Vocals
Amy Cooper   Vocals
Michelle Djarling   Vocals
Carrie Skipper   Vocals

Technical Credits

Stephen Albert   Composer
Robbie Bronnimann   Producer,Remixing
J. Evans Jones   Producer
Andy Ross   Producer,Remixing
Leslie Silvokos   Composer
Simon Berry   Composer,Producer
Mabel Fraser   Producer
Dave Parker   Composer
Darwin Foye   Art Direction
Jaspa Jones   Composer
Martin Roth   Producer
Piet Blank   Composer
Matt Darey   Composer,Producer,Remixing
A.C. Boutsen   Composer
A. Ross   Composer
Chris Cowie   Composer
DJ Riddler   Producer
Andy Kaufhold   Composer,Producer
Ralph Kyau   Composer,Producer
Brad Pressman   Executive Producer
Adam White   Producer
Ed Harris   Composer
Søren Weile   Composer,Producer
Rod Linnum   Marketing
Adrian Broekhuyse   Composer
Robert Gitelman   Composer,Producer
Michael Splint   Producer
Mark Pledger   Composer
Finn Reder   Composer,Producer
Airbase   Producer,Remixing
Ed Harris   Producer
Ernesto vs. Bastian   Arranger,Producer
Yilmaz Altanhan   Composer,Producer
Özgür Can   Producer,Remixing
Carrie Skipper   Composer
Oliver Prime   Producer
Jason Martinez   Composer
Raz Nitzan   Composer
Oliver Smith   Composer
Andy Moor   Composer,Producer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews