Vanthology: A Tribute to Van Morrison

Vanthology: A Tribute to Van Morrison

by Van Morrison


$14.86 $16.99 Save 13% Current price is $14.86, Original price is $16.99. You Save 13%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Tuesday, June 25


From his days with the Brit-hit band Them to his present-day status as champion singer-songwriter, Van Morrison has always been steeped in the blues. On Vanthology, blues and R&B artists, in turn, make the influence explicit by interpreting Morrison tunes. It takes courage to attempt signature Morrison songs like “Tupelo Honey,” “Jackie Wilson Said,” “Crazy Love,” and “Real Real Gone,” but Little Milton, Syl Johnson, Eddie Floyd, and Bettye Lavette (respectively) pull them off in high style. R&B legends including William Bell, Chuck Jackson, Freddie Scott, Dan Penn, and Frederick Knight also acquit themselves with honor, covering songs that have, by now, become staples of mainstream pop. The clever inclusion of some choice obscurities -- "Them’s My Lonely Sad Eyes” and “I Like It like That,” as well as “Bulbs” from Morrison’s too often-overlooked masterpiece Veedon Fleece -- reflect the thought and superior execution that contributed to this outstanding tribute. "Van the Man" will probably be tickled pink.

Product Details

Release Date: 08/05/2003
Label: Evidence
UPC: 0730182612820
catalogNumber: 26128
Rank: 54574

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Van Morrison   Primary Artist
Son Seals   Guitar
Eddie Floyd   Background Vocals
Henry Butler   Organ,Piano
Alan Merrill   Background Vocals
Dan Penn   Vocal Harmony
Little Milton   Guitar
Chris Haskett   Background Vocals
Simon Kirke   Percussion,Drums
George "Shadow" Morton   Background Vocals
Paul Ossola   Standup Bass
Jon Tiven   Acoustic Guitar,Electric Guitar,Background Vocals
Sally Tiven   Bass,Background Vocals
Laurence Singer   Background Vocals
Mason Casey   Harmonica,Background Vocals
Ellis Hooks   Background Vocals
Paul Randolph   Bass
Paul Carey   Guitar
Marvin Floyd   Organ
Michael Gibes   Drums

Technical Credits

Joan Armatrading   Composer
Steve Jensen   Art Direction
Van Morrison   Composer
Jon Tiven   Producer,Engineer,Liner Notes
Sally Tiven   Arranger
Joni Bishop   Cover Illustration
A. Hawkins   Engineer
Bill Towery   Engineer
Joe Johnson   Engineer
Brian Brinkerhoff   Executive Producer
Dylan Ely   Engineer
Robert "Butch" Johnson   Producer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews