Veracity

Veracity

by Laura Bynum
4.2 29

Hardcover

$23.25 $25.00 Save 7% Current price is $23.25, Original price is $25. You Save 7%.
View All Available Formats & Editions

Temporarily Out of Stock Online

Eligible for FREE SHIPPING

Overview

Veracity by Laura Bynum

WHEN LANGUAGE IS A CRIME, ONLY THE TRUTH CAN SET YOU FREE.
In the tradition of Margaret Atwood's The Handmaid's Tale, Laura Bynun has written an astonishing debut novel, a bold and incendiary vision of a chilling, all-too-plausible future in which speech is a weapon and security comes at the higest price of all.

Harper Adams was six years old in 2012 when an act of viral terrorism wiped out one half of the country's population. Out of the ashes rose a new government, the Confederation of the Willing, dedicated to maintaining order at any cost. The populace is controlled via government-sanctioned sex and drugs, a brutal police force known as the Blue Coats, and a device called the slate, a mandatory implant that monitors every word a person speaks. To utter a Red Listed, forbidden word is to risk physical punishment or even death.

But there are those who resist. Guided by the fabled "Book of Noah," they are determined to shake the people from their apathy and ignorance, and are prepared to start a war in the name of freedom. The newest member of this resistance is Harper—a woman driven by memories of a daughter lost, a daughter whose very name was erased by the Red List. And she possesses a power that could make her the underground warriors' ultimate weapon—or the instrument of their destruction.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781439123348
Publisher: Gallery Books
Publication date: 01/05/2010
Pages: 384
Product dimensions: 5.80(w) x 9.10(h) x 1.40(d)

About the Author

LAURA BYNUM was born in Springfield, Illinois (Land of Lincoln) in 1968. She graduated magna cum laude from the University of Illinois, and earned an MA in Mass Media and Interpersonal Communications from Eastern Illinois University. She has extensive experience in marketing, corporate training and public relations. In 2006 she attended the Maui Writer’s Conference and was awarded its top prize—the Rupert Hughes Prose Award—for an early draft of VERACITY. She is currently at work on a second novel. She lives with her husband and three daughters in Virginia.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Veracity 4.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 28 reviews.
SeeMichelleRead More than 1 year ago
At the age of six, Harper Adams lost her parents, her home - her entire world in a mass pandemic caused by an act of terrorism. In the aftermath of confusion and panic, a new government called the Confederation of the Willing took control of the country. No longer willing to allow people to self-govern, the state demands each person receive an implant called the Slate which records every word and action a person makes. If a person even dares to speak a banned or Red-Listed word, the Slate will deliver an immediate electric shock along with a none too subtle reminder of the state's control. If this weren't enough to keep the populace subdued and complacent, the government also relies on a brutal police force called the Blue Coats whose punishment is swift and often deadly. Harper has become a different sort of tool in the hands of the government. Somewhat psychic, she has always been able to read people's emotions and is now used as a Monitor to determine guilt or innocence. But Harper has seen enough corruption to know it is time to stop the oppressive government and is more than ready when an underground resistance movement recruiter makes contact. Fueled by the memory of her lost daughter, whose name is now a Red-Listed word, Harper willingly joins the Resistance knowing it just might cost her everything but it also might give her more than she ever imagined. For me, dystopian books may as well be classified as 'Book Crack' as I tend devour them without hesitation. Although the various dystopian books I've come across vary in terms of suspense, I found myself almost shuddering at the harsh reality of Harper's world. In the vein of Margaret Atwood's The Handmaid's Tale, Veracity is a dark and fearful reminder of the power of knowledge and the lengths a government will go to keep its citizens repressed. I also couldn't help but be reminded of M.T. Anderson's chilling book Feed, in which everyone has a computer implanted in their brain at birth. At it's core, Veracity is a book that explores the power of words. How they allow us expression and understanding and how censorship destroys that basic freedom. I couldn't help but feel a pang of sorrow as Harper confessed to ignorance of common words I so dearly love: music, poem, community, painting and so many others. Although quite dark, I was impressed with Harper's interactions with the Resistance and their struggle to restore knowledge through the fabled Book of Noah.
gl More than 1 year ago
A work of dystopic fiction set in the recent future, Veracity paints a picture of a people decimated by a pandemic. The remaining population is ruled by a totalitarian regime that has gone beyond limited personal freedoms. The government controls nearly all aspects of behavior, but most noticeably, the use of language. By blacklisting or "Red Listing" words from the population's vocabulary, the government erases the ideas behind the words from the collective culture. The criminalization of these words is reminiscent of George Orwell's 1984 and an interesting aspect of the novel. Among the words that were expunged and criminalized: courage poem kindred heresy ego discriminate apostasy offline I thought that the character of Harper Adams was the best part of Veracity. Bynum created a strong and sympathetic heroine in Harper. In spite of her difficult and painful childhood, Harper grew up with a deep sense of integrity and courage. A critical moment occurs when Harper gradually realizes how much she'd lost through the State's censorship. Overall, Veracity is an unusual and compelling read. I recommend Veracity to everyone willing to imagine a world where our thoughts and words are edited for the greater good. ISBN-10: 1439123349 - hardcover $25.00 Publisher: Pocket (January 5, 2010), 384 pages. Review copy provided by the publisher.
athomepaul More than 1 year ago
well thought out and riveting "I read this book in one day. Once I started reading I had to finish it. The subject matter reminds me of the "bird flu" and "swine flu" scare that has happened lately. The way the story is told makes me believe that this might be in our near future if we are not mindful of what our world leaders are doing. Loved the way each chapter is set up by a flash back telling of how we are at this point in the story. Very suspenseful while being told in a manner that is unfortunately believable. Makes me glad of the current freedoms we have. Hope this is made into a movie!"
harstan More than 1 year ago
In 2012, a virus terrorism attack annihilated a bout half the American population. A new government with martial law enforcement is forged out of the abyss. The Confederation of the Willing implant an electronic device in the necks of all citizens that so that if a person utters any of the red-listed words, they trigger the slate gizmo and die as the Blue Coats police are everywhere sadistically relishing punishing felons. In 2012 Harper Adams was a little girl when she survived the disaster. She is careful not to activate the slate in her neck. In 2026, Sentient Baumfree selects her as a Potential because she has paranormal skills. Harper works hard to be the best Monitor until 2045 however, when she has an apostasy when her daughter's name Veracity is added to the death list of banned words. The resistance movement guided by the pre-doomsday pandemic tome, The Book of Noah, recruits Harper to join their counterinsurgency from within a corrupt system. This is an exciting 1984 type futuristic thriller that grips the audience from the onset with its word list and never slows down as ban has new meaning. The story line is driven by Harper who will do anything to be able to say her daughter's name with impunity. Although the Confederation of the Willing never seems quite as nasty as say Big Brother except when the tall eerie Baumfree recruits twelfth graders, fans will appreciate this dark post apocalyptic future. Harriet Klausner
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Enjoyed this.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love Distopian novels from a feminine viewpoint. This book illustrates how the power of words -- and their censorship -- defines your reality. This is a quality new author that deserves your attention.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
EffieTX More than 1 year ago
I loved this as much as I loved The Hunger Games series and the book Matched...
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
JLS72 More than 1 year ago
Like other reviewers, I too, found the style to initially be difficult to follow, but keep reading, it's worth the time it takes to get used to it. After re-reading the first two chapters, I was hooked and stayed up extra late to finish it. The book was disturbing in so many ways and truly took the concept of "freedom of speech" or lack there of, to the most extreme interpretation. Overall, the plot was very original and thought-provoking. I can't wait to lend it to a friend so we can discuss it, as it's definitely one of those books that need to be shared to be fully appreciated.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The author's writing style threw me for a little while. For me, fragments in a published book should be a serious no-no... sometimes I was a little confused by the style of writing... all in all, though, it was an awesome read! It's definitely one that you will think about after you put the book down for a little while, and one you will want to hurry and get home to be able to read again. I enjoyed it very, very much. I'm a Twilight series lover and this was the first book I've read since finishing the series (for the second time) that has kept me interested from cover to cover. I've tried several books in between my second reading of the books and Veracity which have been nothing but disappointment. When you go from reading a book that you love to reading other books that are just okay, it's kind of like a rebound from a relationship. :) This was by far the best of the rebounds and has me looking forward to finding other stories that keep me captivated. If you're looking for a sappy romance though, this is not the book for you.
DomDG More than 1 year ago
Bring the price in line with ebooks and i may purchase it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
shesofly More than 1 year ago
This book drew me in from the very beginning!! Could not put it down. The story line is amazing and very well written!! I will definitely read more books from this author!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago