Violin for Relaxation

Violin for Relaxation


Item is available through our marketplace sellers and in stores.


Violin for Relaxation

The song of the violin is among the most expressive of any instrument, able to caress a sustained line and utter a myriad of nuanced inflections. The moments when it does so, though often sandwiched between pyrotechnics, may be the most dearly loved parts of the repertory. VIOLIN FOR RELAXATION is packed with just such meditative and soothing excursions from the full span of the instrument's history. A variety of sweet-toned soloists lend their bows to all-time romantic favorites by Mendelssohn, Massenet, Rachmaninoff, and others. Anne Akiko Meyers contributes the album's centerpiece, Vaughan Williams's pastoral "The Lark Ascending," as well as the Japanese song "Aka-Tonbo." Representing the baroque is the Largo from J. S. Bach's Concerto for Two Violins, where Pinchas Zukerman and José-Luis Garcia provide a double dose of string harmony, and adding classical grace to the program is Vladimir Spivakov's performance of the slow movement from Mozart's Violin Concerto in A Major. Closing on a blissfully serene note, Messiaen's "Praise to the Immortality of Jesus" offers a rapturous song of devotion, played with timeless reverence by Maria Bachmann.

Product Details

Release Date: 05/16/2000
Label: Rca
UPC: 0090266367627
catalogNumber: 63676


  1. Méditation (from opera "Thäis"), violin & orchestra version and various arrangements
  2. Vocalise, instrumental arrangement, Op. 34/14
  3. Violin Concerto No. 5 in A major ("Turkish") K. 219: II. Adagio
  4. Suite Populaire Espagnole, for violin & piano (arr. from "Popular Spanish Songs" by Kochanski): Nana
  5. The Lark Ascending, romance for violin & orchestra
  6. Petite suite (4), for piano, 4 hands (or orchestra), L. 65: En Bateau
  7. Aka Tonbo (Red Dragonfly), folk song, for voice & piano - arranged by Saegusa
  8. Violin Concerto in E minor, Op. 64: II. Andante
  9. Concerto for 2 violins & strings in D minor ("Double"), BWV 1043: II. Largo ma non tanto
  10. Sicilienne for keyboard in E flat
  11. Salut d'amour, for violin & piano, Op. 12
  12. Quatuor pour la fin du temps, for violin, cello, clarinet, & piano, I/22: Praise to the Immortality of Jesus

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews